A Feastival, Kittens and an Impending Graduation {MIMM}

Happy Monday! Today is my last week of class and that is pretty darn marvelous. A little terrifying, but mostly marvelous.

Speaking of marvelous:

(Thanks for hosting Katie!)

Marvelous is… getting my cap and gown today! I can’t believe graduation is so soon!

Marvelous is… Boone’s feastival, that’s right, FEASTival. Basically a festival showcasing healthy living in Boone, so right up my alley. They had lots of booths with everything from CSAs, bakeries, restaurants, all kinds of good stuff. There were lots of free samples which I’m always a fan of:

kale

Kale salad from the Slow Foods booth. And EarthFare coupons!

smoothie sample

A smoothie sample (I have no idea what was in it but it was tasty) and an energy ball with honey, oats, chocolate chips and a few other things in it. Both were very delicious!

And the best part…

baby goat

Baby goats! I think it’d be fu to have one of these guys as a pet, minus the fact that they would try to eat everything I own, they seem pretty chill otherwise.

There were also food trucks, but un fortunately I didn’t end up getting anything. One truck, Vitality, looked especially delicious and was serving vegan food, but I ate beforehand and wasn’t hungry enough to justify a $7 rice and veggie plate. I’ll have to track them down again when I’m actually hungry!

Marvelous is… a super sweaty spin class this afternoon. It’s been a while, but my foot has been hurting ever since my 10-miler (seriously, I’m like a magnet for minor injuries lately, it’s getting old) so I tried to be smart and opt for something low impact. So. Much. Sweat. Hill sprints are straight up murder.

Marvelous is… potlucks with my Sunday school group.

caribbean black beans and rice

I brought black beans and rice. Someone brought the most delicious fudge-y brownies I have had in a LONG time. Holy cow were those things good. I had three, they weren’t gluten-free but it is 100% worth the stomach ache and headache I have today, they were that good.

I’m going to seriously miss this group after I graduate. The couple that leads the group are the sweetest people and so funny, they make me look forward to getting up early on Sundays.

Marvelous is… KITTENS. I think I spent a good 6 hours playing with them on Friday. I can’t even handle how adorable they are.

kittens

Marvelous is… registering for the Esprit De She 10K in Cary! I’m actually going to be an ambassador for the race, but more on that later.

Time for this girl to get to bed!

Are you a cat person or dog person? I’m non-discriminatory and like pretty much all four-legged mammals.

What types of food do you bring to potlucks? Usually I stick with desserts because everyone loves sugar, but sometimes I opt for healthier things too.

What was marvelous about your Monday?

Previous Post
Leave a comment

8 Comments

  1. Boone sounds like such a cool place. my friend transferred from App and always talks about how much she misses it. It must be crazy to think you’re graduating already – I feel like time is flying almost quicker than high school!

    Reply
    • Boone is small, but it’s got lots of personality which I love, but I definitely miss having a Target! College definitely feels like it flew by, but I also feel like I’ve grown way more in the past 4 years than I did in high school!

      Reply
  2. I am a dog person but boy is that kitty adorable. ahh cap and gown makes it so reall!!!!!!!

    Reply
  3. Hi Lea! I’ve nominated you for the Liebster Award. I’m excited to read your responses! Xoxo http://frecklednettles.weebly.com/2/post/2013/04/ive-been-nominated.html

    Reply
  4. I love cats and dogs except Pheobe, my cat, wakes me up EARLY each morning which drives me crazzzzy! lol!

    Congrats on graduating soon!!!! 🙂

    Kalee @ SoreyFitness.com

    Reply

Leave a Reply

