Birthday Edition {WIAW}

Hey guys, I had a wonderful 22nd birthday yesterday! I woke up this morning with a serious sugar hangover, so you know it was a good one 🙂

But before we get to the food, let’s see how I did on my 21 before 22 list.

01 // Paint my fingernails. Half check. I started painting my fingernails one day and got through one hand before I decided I didn’t like the color. I was planning on repainting both hands a better color later on, but… that didn’t happen. I’m a terrible girly girl. I’m hoping to actually paint them soon, because this one-hand chipped nail polish look is not so cute.

02 // Run a 5K. Nope. I’ve run 5Ks on the treadmill so I can pretend that counts but I didn’t actually run in the race. BUT Appalachian is host a color run on the 27th that I’m planning to participate in for some race redemption.

03 // Make a REAL dinner.  CHECK. Double check. I made lots of homemade dinners over the past two weeks, even if I’m short on time, I’ve found making a real dinner at the end of the day is a great way to unwind, if I can hold off my hunger for that long.

dinner5

04 // Studio yoga. Fail. I didn’t even make it to a class on campus. Sorry muscles for leaving you all tight and knotted up.

05// Start a new book. CHECKish. I just bought a new e-book today Effortless. It’s a moderately trashy romance novel, but that’s okay. I started reading Thoughtless, the first book in the series when it was just a story on Fiction Press so it’s kinda cool to see it in real life book form.

06 // Bake something.  CHECK. Hello birthday cake.

cake4

07 // Drink a shot of espresso. Didn’t happen, one day it will though.

08 // Spontaneous mid day coffee.  CHECK. I waited until my birthday to get it, but that’s okay, birthday coffees are extra tasty.

Photo0987

09 // Design something for the blog. Nope. I started something but I haven’t had the inspiration to finish. I’m going to keep working on it though.

10 // Buy a new vegetable. Kinda? I didn’t buy a new vegetable, but I bought some eggplant after not eating any in a long time and I’ve incorporated it into lots of meals, that kinda counts right?

roasted eggplant and sweet potato

11 // Juice it up. I didn’t break out my own juicer, but I did buy one from Earth Fare the other day. It was very beet-ilicious and now my pee is hot pink? TMI? Maybe, but oh so true.

Photo0988

12 // Break out the DSLR. CHECK. Thanks to a few hikes!

glen burney trail waterfall blowing rock nc

hike2

13 // Grandfather Mountain dollar days. Not yet, but I’ve got plans to go with some friends in two weekends!

14 // Clean my room.  Bam. Now to work on keeping it clean…

15 // Best Body Bootcamp.  CHECK. And loving every single workout.

16 // Kick this tendonitis.  CHECKish. I still have a little soreness, but I finished a 6 mile run today with almost no pain so I’m thinking it’s almost gone!

17 // Random act of kindness for a stranger.  CHECK. I left $5 for a stranger on a table in the campus coffee shop. Hopefully someone found it and enjoyed a much needed coffee or snack.

Photo0983

Photo0984

18 // Watch a Disney movie. an unintentional CHECK. I was hoping to watch something along the lines of the Lion King, but that didn’t happen because I couldn’t manage to sit still long enough. But I did watch the better part of the Hanna Montana Movie one afternoon on TV. Don’t you judge.

19 // Buy a new candle. CHECK. Now I just need a holder for it… didn’t think about that one.

20 // Get organized. My homework to do list could use a little attention but I spent one weekend deep cleaning my apartment kitchen, straightening up the living room and organizing my room. See mom and dad, I do know how to clean 🙂

21 // Have Fun.  One big fat CHECK.

14 out of 21, I’ll take it.

Now for the food!

 

(Thanks Jenn!)

Photo0989

Birthday fro-yo! Peanut butter, cake batter and brownie batter yogurt with cheesecake bits, cookie dough chunks, sprinkles, dark chocolate, oreos, Reeses, peanut butter sauce and sprinkles. Don’t be fooled though, this bowl was pretty gross. The brownie batter flavor was gross (I know how is that possible? So disappointing!), the peanut butter flavor wasn’t frozen (I don’t even know how that works) and the cake batter flavor wasn’t bad, just a little too sweet for my taste buds. Luckily I had some un-pictured fro yo redemption in the form of tart yogurt with strawberries and blueberries. That’s what I get for trying to be fancy, I should just stick to the basics, at least I know they’re delicious.

Photo0992

Just kidding! I didn’t eat this cake, but how creepy does it look? It’s supposed to be a puppy but it just scares me.

Photo0991

TACO TUESDAY. Boone Saloon does $1.25 tacos every Tuesday, this was my first time going to taco Tuesday but I will be back! I had three delicious veggie tacos and a pint of beer for $7, can’t beat that!

My roommate and I split a hard apple cider while watching the most recent Twilight movie (stop judging me). It was a delicious choice, I was looking for something a little lighter than beer and this hit the spot.

And some where in there I polished off a bag of gluten-free ginger snap cookies my friend bought me for my birthday. I have zero control around those things. ZERO.

Photo0985

This isn’t from yesterday, but I had this delicious meal Saturday at Mellow Mushroom and I couldn’t not mention it. Stuffed portobello mushrooms with feta and mozzarella cheese, artichoke hearts, sun-dried tomatoes, served over spring mix and drizzled with balsamic. So. Good.

What’s your favorite birthday treat? I think frozen yogurt/ice cream is a birthday necessity

What’s the last delicious thing you ate?

Soft or hard shell tacos?

Next Post
Leave a comment

16 Comments

  1. Do beets really turn your pee pink? Haha I don’t like em (even though I want to) so I wouldn’t know. That cider looks good too!

    Reply
    • They do! It’s a pretty weird side effect of eating them, I guess it’s all the pigment they have? The cider was really good, it was my first time trying hard cider but I really liked it, it was very refreshing!

      Reply
  2. $1.25 tacos.. I don’t think I’d know how to stop ordering them with a price like that =) Great job w/ all you were able to achieve. I had to laugh @ the nail painting story bc I am guilty of doing the exact same thing, Ha Ha!

    Reply
    • It was definitely hard to not to order way more tacos, even after my 3rd I was considering more! I’m glad I’m not they only one that goes around with one painted hand 🙂

      Reply
  3. I love your random act of kindness – that’s so cute! Karma will definitely come back around to you 🙂 So glad you had a great birthday. Oh, and don’t worry about the not painting your nails thing. I’ve pretty much given up on painting mine because I always chip them.

    Reply
  4. I love what you did with the free coffee, how cute!

    Reply
    • I hope it went to someone who really needed it, we’re getting close to exams and people’s meal plans are starting to run low so I hope it helped someone out. I know free coffee always brightens my day!

      Reply
  5. Happy Belated Birthday!

    No judging on the Hannah Montana movie. My entire family (all 16 and up in age mind you) watched it a few weekends ago. No shame 🙂

    Hello birthday cake is right. That looks delicious. What flavor is it?

    Oh, and great dinner picture. Love how you captured the steam.

    Reply
    • The cake was Betty Crocker’s boxed gluten-free yellow cake but I stirred in 1/4c of peanut butter to make things more exciting. The frosting is cool whip mixed with cocoa powder and a little cinnamon. It came out pretty tasty!

      Reply
  6. Mellow Mushroom has THE BEST pizza!

    Reply
  7. olivetorun

     /  April 21, 2013

    This is awesome, it looks like you were pretty successful 🙂 The act of kindness is my favorite because I love doing them myself.

    Reply
  8. No judgement here – hard cider and Twilight sounds like an awesome time!! Haha. Happy Belated!! And for me, it’s not my birthday without carrot cake. 🙂

    Reply
    • It was definitely a nice way to end a Tuesday night! I think Twilight is one of my biggest guilty pleasures, it is so dumb but I can’t help but like it! Carrot cake is so good! It’s been way too long since I’ve had some.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

