Product Loving

First off, shot out to Luna Bar for being the most awesome company ever!

They sent me a hand-written card and a free Chocolate Dipped Coconut Luna Bar, talk about some serious customer service.

chocolate dipped coconut luna bar

So sweet!

And now for some food reviews:

go free carrot cake bar vanilla almond vega smoothie

 

NuGo Free Carrot Cake Protein Bar // I picked this guy up at Whole Foods when I was home for Easter, I was originally going to reach for a Luna or Clif bar but I decided to try something fun and new. This bar was pretty good, it’s made with puffed rice, which I wasn’t expecting, I was hoping for a heavy duty protein bar (it is a pretty good size) but it was a little lighter. The texture was a little funky, the puffed rice isn’t as crispy as it is in something like a Luna Bar. The flavor was really good though, very spicy and cinnamon-y, not a lot of carrot flavor going on but still delicious.

Vega Vanilla Almondilla Smoothie // This was also an Easter weekend Whole Foods purchase, it was on sale for $1.50 so I couldn’t help myself. The shake was really good, and green! I mixed the packet with a cup of sunflower milk and drank it for a snack in between classes and it made for a really great pick-me-up.

Photo0978

In a recycled coconut oil jar of course. The portability factor is pretty awesome. My only complaint is that it was pretty sweet for my taste buds, probably because it was sweetened with stevia, which I don’t typically eat or use. This smoothie also smells exactly like Jergen’s Cherry Almond hand soap.

simple bars

 

Perfectly Simple Cranberry Almond Bar // Another sale impulse buy, this one is thanks to good old Target. For $0.69 I couldn’t not try it out. This bar is kinda like Zone Perfect’s version of a Larabar, and can I just say that I love that brands that usually make super processed protein bars are starting to add more natural products to their brand?

It pretty much tasted like a Larabar, but a little drier because it has some protein powder added. The texture is pretty similar to Pure bars. Not to mention it tasted good, the tang from the cranberries helped balanced out the sweetness from the dates and the almonds gave the bar a nice crunch. I really liked this bar, the ingredients are simple, there’s some added protein, and it’s affordable.

spiru-tein chocolate protein powder

 

Spiru-tein Chocolate Protein Powder // I’m on a big protein shake lately, they’re easy to carry to class and pretty filling. They’ve also made me simultaneously too lazy to want to pack a real lunch.

Spiru-tein’s chocolate is a winner, I also mixed it with sunflower milk for a mid-day snack. It didn’t blend too well, but in their defense they recommended mixing the packet with cold milk and mine was sitting in my book bag for a couple hours so it was only slightly cold. I also don’t have a fancy blender bottle, which probably would have worked better. It didn’t matter though because it was DELICIOUS. It tasted like chocolate milk, mmm…

Can you believe Spiru-tein also has cappuccino, cookie dough AND red velvet flavored protein powders!? I need to get those in my life soon!

ginger chews

 

Ginger People Original Ginger Chews // I’m a ginger lover and these did not disappoint. Me and my old lady self absolutely loved these guys. The candies were not to sweet and had a pretty good kick. They were really chewy, so I had to suck on the candy more than chew it in order to keep my teeth intact, but that only made them last longer. I will definitely be getting these again, if you love ginger as much as I do (or even a little less) you should add these to your candy stash!


What are some products you’re loving lately?

What protein powder do you use/recommend? I’m on the hunt for a tasty/affordable one.

What’s you’re favorite snack?

Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. Huge fan of myofusion probiotics! I could not recommend it enough. Also CLICK has an amazing vanilla latte protein powder that I use a couple times a week 🙂

    Reply
  2. I really want to start making protein shakes, but have yet to find a good protein powder! Maybe I’ll try the Spirutein?!

    Reply
    • You should definitely check them out, I’ve only tried the chocolate flavor but the other flavors look good too. I got a single serve packet for like $2 at Earthfare, so you can try it out for pretty cheap before committing to a huge can of it.

      Reply
  3. ginger chews are my new obsession, so freaking good

    Reply

Leave a Reply

