Healthy Homemade Dinners {WIAW}

Happy Wednesday!

I have to let my inner dance geek out for a second because this morning in my Dance History class we got to watch Alvin Ailey’s Revelations. Alvin Ailey is an AMAZING modern dance choreographer and Revelations gives me chills every time I watch it.

Beautiful.

A much better way to start the morning than Bizarre Foods. By a million.

I also had a nice 4 mile run after my Best Body Bootcamp workshop. My tendon is still hating me a little, but things are slowlyyyy getting better. I think I’ll be spending lots of time getting EMS therapy at the injury clinic this week. Gotta soak up all that free-ness while I still can.

I can already tell my muscles are going to be SORE in the morning. I secretly love that.

And because it’s Wednesday…

(Thanks Jenn!)

Remember one of the goals on my 21 before 22 list was to make a real dinner because I’ve been relying on eggs and frozen veggies way too much lately. Well apparently that goal set me on a dinner making roll. My meals are by no means elaborate, but I’ve taken time to cook dinner everyday this week, which is a major accomplishment.

This Wednesday I thought I’d share some of those dinners with you (even though you got a glimpse of them the other day!). Just a warning, I’m on a big eggplant kick lately.

vegetarian dinner

Roasted sweet potatoes, spinach, onions and tomato, with a side of eggplant.

kale salad

Kale, mushrooms, roasted sweet potatoes and eggplants.

kale salad

Kale, sweet potatoes and lots of curry powder!

roasted eggplant and sweet potato

Roasted eggplant and sweet potato

dinner5

Sauteed spinach, sweet potatoes, broccoli (okay the broccoli was frozen, but so cheap!) and tempeh.

dinner6

And tonight’s dinner! Sauteed eggplant (I told you I’m on a kick!), mushrooms, onions, garlic and roma tomatoes over a bed of kale. Yummy.

My dinners seem a little light and lacking in the protein department, but I snack a lot through out the afternoon to power through class so I’m all about light meals when dinner time rolls around.

And time for a few snacks!

popcorn

Air-popped popcorn with coconut oil and cinnamon. That was a mixing bowl full of popcorn and I ate every last kernel. So. Good.

protein cake

Microwave protein cake. 1 scoop vanilla whey protein powder, 3 tbsp egg whites and a little (actually a lot) of cinnamon. Came out a little dry and chewy but noting a little peanut butter can’t fix 🙂

Do you usually cook dinner from scratch? Or do you rely on convenience foods? Or both?

What’s you’re go-to dinner on busy nights?

Do you like eggplant? What’s your favorite way to cook it?

Previous Post
Leave a comment

11 Comments

  1. no shame in your eggplant addiction.. I totally went through the same craving about a month ago 🙂

    Reply
  2. Healthy indeed! And gorgeous pictures too! I love kale. I just made a big batch of kale chips- and they actually turned out 🙂 Happy WIAW girl!

    Reply
  3. mmmm such a good idea to add cinnamon to popcorn! Don’t know why I haven’t done that before!

    Reply
  4. I keep trying to like kale, but it’s so hard! do you put any kind of oil and/or dressing on it to make it taste bit less bitter?

    Reply
    • I’ve found that cooking it helps get rid of a lot of the bitterness, I usually steam it or saute it. Also doing the “massage” technique works really well too, I usually use a little bit of olive oil, salt and something acidic like lemon juice or ACV because I’m pretty plan but you could use dressing too. Massaging kale helps break down the fibers so it’s not quite so fiber-y and bitter. I hope that helps!

      Reply
  5. I just adore that dinner you made!! Curry powder, sweet taters, eggplant – what’s not to LOVE!!!
    I love being sore and I keep it no secret 😉

    Reply
  1. Healthy Way To Cook What I Ate Wednesday Roundup - Posts from April 10

Leave a Reply

