21 Things to do Before 22

Ha. I’m a poet.

So my 22nd birthday is in approximately 2.5 weeks, and I thought I’d come up with a list of 21 things to do to round out my 21st year of life.

And… since I only have 16 days, I’m sticking with small things that will make each day a little more awesome leading up to my birthday. Not to mention final exams are only a month away and I’m trying to avoid being completely consumed with the crazy end of year projects professors love to assigns. Like the lovely 10 page paper due on Wednesday that I may or may not (letsbehonest not) have started.

01 // Paint my fingernails. Seems silly but it has been a shameful amount of time since these fingernails have seen a drop of polish, which is too bad because it’s fun to have crazy colored nails.

Fancy.

02 // Run a 5K. There’s a cheap one the weekend before my birthday that a couple of my friends are running, should be a good time!

03 // Make a REAL dinner. My dinners lately consist of frozen vegetables heated in a pan along with 2 fried eggs. Gets the job done but it’s not real exciting. I want to take a few extra minutes and actually plan a real meal. Bonus: leftovers.

I’m thinking this amazing looking bowl of goodness created by Elizabeth at Mackin’ Cheese will be made.

04 // Studio yoga. I’ve always wanted to take a yoga class at a studio instead of a gym, budget permitting, I want to take a studio class. If not, the yoga instructors on campus are awesome and I don’t mind taking class there!

05// Start a new book. Pleasure reading is not easy to do in college but I want to at least start a new book soon, if I make the effort to start it, odds are I will finish it eventually. Book recommendations are welcome!

06 // Bake something. I think some birthday cupcakes will be in order.

gluten free chocolate cupcakes

07 // Drink a shot of espresso. Straight. It might sound weird but this is something I’ve always wanted to do. I actually I’ve always wanted to throw back a shot of espresso like a shot of alcohol (I feel like that is a weird thing to want to do, but I have some strange desire to) but then I realized that espresso is hot and that might not be a smart choice.

Such a beautiful sight.

08 // Spontaneous mid day coffee. Those just make the week better don’t they?

09 // Design something for the blog. I have some ideas, I just need to spend some time with good old Adobe Illustrator.

10 // Buy a new vegetable. And try cooking with it, I get it in serious food ruts and nothing switches things up like figuring out how to cook something new. I also love a good excuse to explore the produce department at Earth Fare.

11 // Juice it up. I got a juicer for Christmas and I have used it a grand total of one time. Cleaning it out intimidates me, but I need to suck it up and enjoy some pretty veggie-filled juice.

homemade beet carrot apple ginger juice

 

12 // Break out the DSLR. I need a good excuse to bust out the DSLR to take pictures of something other than food.

13 // Grandfather Mountain dollar days. Assuming the weather decides actually act like spring, I want to go to Grandfather Mountain because during the month of April admission is only $2 for students, versus the usual $18, aka perfect time to go. I went for the first time last year and had a great time, time to go back! This would also help out with #12.

14 // Clean my room. Okay, not a fun activity but it needs to happen. A clean room makes me happy, just not the process of actually cleaning it.

15 // Best Body Bootcamp. I won a free entry for Tina‘s Best Body Bootcamp via a giveaway on Clare‘s blog. It starts tomorrow and I’m really excited. It’s basically going to force me to do strength training which I need, I’ve been seriously slacking in that department.

best body bootcamp

16 // Kick this tendonitis. I finally got my butt to the doctor about the pain behind my knee. The doctor thinks it’s probably tendonitis (of the Biceps Femoris tendon, if you’re nerdy like me and want to know the specific one). Thursday and Friday I went to the injury clinic and had some Electric Muscle Stimulation done to my hamstring. Things feel much better but it still hurts when I run, get better tendon!

17 // Random act of kindness for a stranger. Making other people feel better makes me feel better.

18 // Watch a Disney movie. Because I’m 21 going on 8.

19 // Buy a new candle. I love candles but I have lit one in way too long. Something about candle light is the most relaxing thing ever, and I need more of it in my life. This one will have to be on the down low though because my apartment complex doesn’t allow candles (lame right?).

20 // Get organized. This goes along with #14. My life is pretty much semi-organized chaos. Some days I get away with it, some days I’m running around my apartment with a minute to catch the bus trying to figure out where I put my student ID. Not a good habit.

21 // Have Fun. Not sweating the small stuff and living in the moment. That’s what’s important in life.

What’s something you want to do before your next birthday? 

Happy Easter!

Leave a comment

7 Comments

  1. Great list! Sending prayers that your knee starts feeling better soon! Oh & I really need to paint my nails too. I can’t remember when the last time they were done… so not very girly like, Ha Ha!

    Reply
  2. What an awesome list!! I actually started painting my nails every Sunday… right now they are bright yellow! 🙂

    Reply
  1. Healthy Homemade Dinners {WIAW} | greensandcoffeebeans
  2. Birthday Edition {WIAW} | greensandcoffeebeans
  3. May Goal & A Day in the Life {WIAW} | greensandcoffeebeans

Leave a Reply

