Ice Ice Baby & African Dance

Hey guys!

This week is going to be all kinds of crazy, but we are 1.5 weeks from spring break so I can’t complain. In two weeks I will be living it up with my friends at the Outer Banks and I’m a little A LOT excited about.

Speaking of beach-y things here is what Boone looked like today:

boone nc ice storm

And by beach-y things I meant the complete opposite. There’s a good coating of ice over the whole city, which is a little awesome because my two morning classes were cancelled. Sorry to those with responsibilities who had to be at work early this morning, while I was chilling on the couch reading blogs.

Confession: I stole this picture off a random student’s Instagram, thank you mysterious Appalachian instagrammer. I was not about to stand in the freezing rain to take pictures of ice. I like warm things.

Enough weather talk, I’m weathered out here in Boone. I’m not sure if that’s a real word, but it’s how I feel.

If you’re on the hunt for a new and interesting workout, you should definitely try African dance.

You read that right, African dance.

This afternoon I took an African dance class for my dance history class. Every time I take an African dance class (which is much more than you would think for a little white girl like me) I’m reminded of what an AMAZING workout it is. You’re constantly  jumping, turning, skipping etc. African dance uses a very grounded stance, which works those legs like crazy! And you pretty much never stop moving. The class reminded me of cardio dance classes, you know those ones where you feel like you’re not doing that much work until the end of class when you’re covered in sweat? Yeah, like that.

african dancers disney world

Oh you know, just dancing with some African dancers in Disney World circa 2006. Three guesses which person is me.

If you’re looking to spice up your fitness routine you should check out a local African dance class near you! It might push you a little bit out of your comfort zone movement-wise but if you can let go a little it is an amazing experience.

Classes might be a little difficult to find, but you can search local dance studios because they are often offered there, or sometimes they are offered through cultural centers, just keep your eyes peeled!

What’s the most unique workout you’ve done?

What’s the weather like where you are? Icy, and snow is the forecast all weekend. I’m living somewhere warm next.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. that is some ice. lame sauce

    Reply
    • That was the most ice I’ve seen in a long time, even the grass was covered in ice. Of course it melted in time for us to get 4 straight days of snow. Gotta love winter!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

