Oh Monday {MIMM}

Oh Mondays, why are you so cruel?

You’re screeching alarm is such a rude awakening after a rejuvenating weekend. Can we make a deal where we just skip to Friday? I can get on board with that?

No? Okay, I’ll stop complaining, after all sometimes Mondays can be a little Marvelous… or something like that.

(Thanks Katie!)

Marvelous is… semi-spontaneous trips home. After being out of town the past two weeks, I was planning on actually spending a weekend in Boone, but Thursday night I decided to head home and celebrate my mom’s birthday and it was exactly what I needed.

Marvelous is… kitty snuggles

jenny cat

Full on crazy cat lady status and I’m not even ashamed about it. Cats make life better.

Marvelous is… applying for graduation and ordering my cap and gown last week! Holy cannoli, where did the time go? I’m pretty sure yesterday I was just a little freshman living it up in the dorms. I’m not sure I’ll ever be ready for the real world.

high school friends graduation

High school pictures are so awkward. I can’t believe this was four years ago!

Marvelous is… Saturday morning pancakes. I haven’t made pancakes in FOREVER and they need to happen much, much more often. Nothing says happy Saturday like a stack of pancakes.

gluten free strawberry pancakes

The pancakes are 1 small banana, 1 egg and 2 tsp mashed together until smooth and cooked in a grease pan like a regular pancake. How an egg and banana create such a fluffy pancake is magic I don’t even understand, but I do know they will be on regular rotation from now on.

Speaking of pancakes, want to see something gross? Of course you don’t but I’m showing you anyway.

chocolate pancake fail

That would be probably the most epic pancake fail you will ever witness. Almond meal, flax meal, cocoa powder and almond milk do not combine into a delicious pancake, instead they combine into one shitty looking (literally) mess that tastes like nothing. But I topped it with a little vanilla frosting and ate it anyway. Frosting makes everything better.

Marvelous is… a cocoa powder dessert that isn’t a complete failure:

cocoa powder peanut butter sweet potato healthy dessert

A sweet potato topped with peanut butter, cocoa powder, cinnamon and a tiny sprinkle of salt. Did I mention I’ve been on a chocolate kick lately? I can’t get enough of the stuff. Actually my chocolate cravings are pretty perpetual (thank you estrogen) but they’ve been especially bad lately. Gimme dat chocolate.

Marvelous is… mountain roads during sunset.

US 421 NC mountains sunset

This photo does the scene absolutely no justice, but it is an amazing sight. I think I’m actually going to miss the mountains a little come May. Flat land is just not as beautiful.

Marvelous is… Mediterranean food. Boone has an amazing restaurant scene, but we are severely lacking in the Mediterranean cuisine department. Good thing we have plenty at home so I can get my fix.

Jasmins mediterranean food

Oh pita points, why must you mock me?

Marvelous is… internship interviews. Actually, interviews are no fun at all, but I had a phone interview today for a potentially AMAZING internship, I’m not sure how the interview went because I didn’t actually do much talking, but keep your fingers crossed for me. I applied for this internship last year and didn’t get it so I’m hoping for a little redemption this year 🙂

Marvelous is… looking to get my Pilates certification! I’m loving teaching too much to stop after graduation. Right now, I’m looking at going the Balanced Body route, but if you guys know anything about Pilates certifications help a girl and give me your recommendations!

Marvelous is… the Yogalates class I’m teaching on Wednesday. It’s a Pilates/yoga fusion class and I’ve never taught anything like it before, but I get to be a little creative with it and should be a lot of fun.

yogalates promotional poster

Marvelous is… finally getting in a long run (8 miles!) after missing out for the past 2 weeks. Not-so-marvelous… the fact that it was on the treadmill and I tweaked something behind my knee 😦 boo hoo. Icing it like crazy and forcing myself to sit down and not irritate it, which is surprisingly easy and difficult all at the same time.

What made your Monday Marvelous?

Do you like Mediterranean food? I’m a huge fan but my boyfriend is not, crazy boy.

Mountains or beach?

Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. Nothing starts a day off better than a big stack of yummy pancakes 🙂 🙂

    Reply
  2. pilates certification? sounds really cool. I still remember how surreal it was to order my graduation gown, it totally hit right then how fast things were approaching

    Reply
    • It still doesn’t feel like it’s so close! Probably because I won’t officially graduate until I finish another internship, but I still can’t believe how close it is on the calendar.

      Reply
  3. Hey girl! I got my Mat Certification through IFTA! It was a great experience and they hold random workshops all over the state (a lot in Raleigh!) let me know if you have any questions

    Reply

Leave a Reply

