Marvelous in My Post-Super Bowl Monday {MIMM}

Happy Monday!

I’m not going to lie, I had a late night last night and my alarm clock was one rude awakening this morning. Why is the Super Bowl on a Sunday? I think we all need a day to recuperate afterwards.

Luckily my Monday was still pretty marvelous

(Thanks Katie for hosting!)

Marvelous is… Super Bowl parties! I won’t even pretend like we tried to watch the game. We just wanted an excuse to get together and eat lots of food. And it was some pretty delicious food:

super bowl chips and salsa

Chips and dip, obviously.

sweet potato fries

An attempt at sweet potato chips that ended up being fries, I’m not complaining though!

samuel adams beer

Beer, because what is a Super Bowl party without beer? I’m the one in the group that drinks like an old man so I had an IPA, it was pretty tasty.

chocolate covered strawberries

Chocolate covered strawberries! Sooo good. Can you tell it was all girls at this party?

chocolate covered apple slices

And chocolate covered apple slices.

flourless oatmeal coconut raisin cookies

I made Flourless Oatmeal Coconut Raisin cookies. I followed Katie‘s recipe for Oatmeal Raisin Cookies, but I doubled it, add 1/2 cup of unsweetened shredded coconut, 1/4 cup almond meal, an egg (I felt pretty guilty about adding an egg to a vegan cookie recipe, but not guilty enough to not do it) and pumpkin pie spice. I for the life of me can’t just make a recipe as is, I just can’t help myself. They came out really tasty and the coconut was a fun addition, even the gluten eaters liked them!

super bowl party

Yup, see how we’re all paying 100% attention to the football game?

hard ass board game

And then a game of Smart Ass broke out. I won thanks to the ridiculous amount of useless knowledge I have stored in my noggin. I would consider trying to get on Jeopardy except I have never in my life gotten a final Jeopardy question right and I feel like that is an important part of the game.

If you were wondering, I was pulling for the Ravens because their team color is purple and that is my favorite color. Who says you can’t pick the winning team based on the team colors 🙂 ?

Marvelous is.. Whatever spurred this crazy productivity I have going on right now. Today I did laundry, dishes, tackled a leg workout (lunges, I still hate you lots!) and got some major work done on a speech for my public speaking class. It feels good to check things off the to do list!

productive set up laptop coffee and water

Coffee shops and classical Pandora stations make me 1000x times more productive. I need to keep this in mind.

Marvelous is… No snow in the forecast this week!

Boone weather forecast no snow

I think we’ve had pretty much every form of weather in the past week! Tuesday was sunny and 60 degrees, Wednesday was crazy rain with flash flooding, snow on Friday and Saturday and snow squalls last night. I’m ready for some consistent weather for a change. And no snow means I don’t have to worry about road conditions on my way home this weekend, thank you mother nature.

Marvelous is… PDRs! I did 8.5 slowwww miles on the treadmill on Saturday. I hated spending that long on the treadmill but it was either that or run in the 20 degree snow. No thank you. It took 1:43:00 but I did it so I will take it, and I didn’t go crazy after being on the treadmill for that long so I consider that a major accomplishment. I’ve got 9 miles on the schedule for next week!

Marvelous is… Coffee from the coffee shop on campus, I try to save money and make my own at home, but today I splurged because it seriously ups my productivity levels, and dang is that stuff good. I guess that’s why we pay them so much to make it for us.

counter culture coffee logo

They brew Counter Culture Coffee and their coffee is super tasty. I highly recommend you picking some up if you can find it at a grocery store near you.

It’s been a pretty fantastic Monday, I definitely can’t complain. Now let’s hope the rest of the week goes this smoothly!

Have a great week!

What made your Monday Marvelous?

Did you watch the Super Bowl?

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. congrats on the pdr! I love making sweet potato fries, or really any sort of squash fries like that.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

