Floods, Cats and PRs {Thankful Thursday}

I have lots to be thankful for this Thursday

thankful thursday

 

(First I’m thankful for Jessie‘s weekly dose of gratitude!)

I’m thankful that I live on a hill, so my apartment and car are safe and dry.

appstate boone monsoon meme

There were quite a few cars stranded underwater in yesterday’s flash flooding and I feel so bad for the people who have to deal with flood damage. Luckily no one was hurt (that I’ve heard).

I’m thankful that Sam made it out of surgery okay.

hungrybeast

He had his large intestine removed (how crazy does that sound? I know they do that to humans too, but that sounds pretty intense!) because it wasn’t working and he was constipated and miserable all the time, poor guy.

I know you came to my blog to listen to me talk about cat poop. I aim to please.

Anyway, it sounds like it wasn’t too risky of the surgery, but all surgery freaks me out so I was a big ball of stress all day. But according to my dad everything went well, he just has to have fluids through an IV and limited activity for 2 weeks. Hopefully then he’ll be back to his usual ham of a self.

I’m thankful for PRs!!! I ran a 5k in 28:30 today! Bam. Yes it was on a treadmill which is cheating a little, but it was a full 2 minutes faster than my last 5k PR thankyouverymuch. Assuming that the treadmill was not broken, because that’s immediately what I though when I looked down and saw that I was doing 8:30 minute miles, were the heck did that come from? I’m going to blame it on the mass amounts of sunflower seed butter I’ve been eating, which justifies me buying a new jar this week right? I think so.

post run duck face thumbs up

PRs warrant duck faces and thumbs up right?  Let’s go with yes. Also excuse the snow jacket, it’s cold here, nevermind that I’m sitting inside my heated apartment. When is spring?

I’m thankful for George Gershwin’s wonderful music. I’ve been jamming to some Gershwin lately. First off I think using jamming in the same sentence as a classical composer is something to proud of, second I can’t get enough of Rhapsody in Blue and all things jazzy and classical. It makes doing homework 100% better.

What are you thankful for today?

What music have you been listening to lately?

Please brag about your PRs here because they are awesome and I want to hear them! Everyone needs a good brag.

 

Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. your poor kitty, glad it is ok. that is scary

    Reply
    • I talked to my parents a couple days ago and they said he’s doing good. It was an elective surgery, but I think he’ll be some much happier now that he can eat real food again.

      Reply
  2. Sam is so cute! Glad he is ok

    Reply
  3. Poor little Sam. I am so glad he’s feeling better now. I can’t even imagine. I would have been so scared 😦

    Reply
    • I was freaking out about him all day but luckily he’s home and parents said he’s doing really well,and still trying to chase our other cats around the house!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

