Let’s Go Swimming and Vegetarian Paleo, Say What? {WIAW}

I hope you guys are having a dry Wednesday night because it’s POURING over here.

Seriously, it’s so bad that they shut down the university, crazy stuff.

Here’s Durham Park, a cute little grassy area on campus on a normal day:

appalachian state university durham park

This is what Durham Park looks like today:

appalachian state university campus flooded

So since this girl can’t swim, I’m going to stick to my cozy little apartment on top of a hill. Stay safe Boone-ites!

Now let’s talk about drier things, like food. Yeah, clever segues are not my thing.

(Thanks Jenn for hosting!)

Head’s up about this week’s food, it’s going to be a little different.

I mentioned last week that I’m making some temporary changes to my diet. My stomach has been upset a lot lately and I can’t deal with any more stomach aches. To try to help the situation I’m following a Paleo-ish diet.

Yes, vegetarian Paleo. Contradictory? Absolutely. But I wanted to give my digestive system a break and focus on easy to digest foods – fruits, veggies, healthy fats, nuts and eggs, because girl’s gotta have some protein. No dairy, grains, legumes or (too much) added sugar. Sound a little crazy? Maybe, but it actually has been going really well. I thought I’d share some of my typical meals and my thoughts this week.

Meals

sweet potatoes and coconut oil

My new staple breakfast, baked sweet potatoes with coconut oil, cinnamon and a small sprinkle of salt. So. Dang. Good. I don’t even miss my oatmeal. Shocking.

wiaw1_13_04

Lots of fruit and an equal amount of un-pictured veggies. I’ve been eating more produce that I have in a long time which is really delicious but requires lots of extra trips to the grocery store. I’m pretty okay with that.

wiaw1_13_02

Eggs, fried with slight gooey yolks. Since figuring out technique it is the only way I eat eggs. Variety is overrated.

wiaw1_13_03

I’m only slightly ashamed to admit I polished off 90% of this jar in two days. But I’ve slowed down and I’m savoring the last 10% because I realized going through a $5 jar of sunflower seed butter in two days is not very cost efficient. Sorry wallet.

wiaw1_13_06

My new favorite “adlkfjasldfkj I’m hungry and I want chocolate” go-to snack. Please tell me I’m not the only one with that problem. Anyway, coconut milk (take canned coconut refrigerate upside down and scoop out the the thick stuff at the top) thinned with a little almond milk and mixed with cocoa powder and cinnamon.

wiaw1_13_01

Larabars! Dates are nature’s candy after all.

I don’t know why I feel the need to put Buddha in every food picture, but he is on the side table near the window where I take my pictures so he sneaks his way in 🙂

Thoughts

Keep in mind this is temporary I don’t plan to live a life with peanut butter or oatmeal. That doesn’t sound like a fun life. That being said, I’m really enjoying eating like this. I’m surprised because when you cut out dairy, grains, legumes, and meat it doesn’t leave you with a whole lot of options but I haven’t felt like I’m missing out. If I felt too restricted and miserable I would quit it but I don’t. I feel 100% satisfied and look forward to every meal.

Most of all I have SO MUCH energy. Crazy right? I figured that getting so little protein (I’m averaging 30-40 grams a day) would make me so tired, and while a low-protein slump could still hit, I actually feel great.

My fat intake has increased a lot (yeahhhh avocados and coconut!) and I think that has really helped me feel more satisfied. I don’t get the whole bottomless-pit-for-a-stomach feeling I used to have. And basically I feel really awesome. This kind of diet might not be right for everyone, but I think it’s really working for me right now.

I want to try to add other foods back in and see how my body reacts in a little bit and see what exactly it is my body is hating, but I want to continue focusing on more fruits/veggies and healthy fats even as I add things back in.

How’s the weather where you are?

What are your thoughts on the Paleo diet?

What are your favorite healthy fats?

Previous Post
Leave a comment

9 Comments

  1. I think it’s great that your eating what makes you feel energized, alive.. and just at a good place 🙂

    && wow, be safe out there girl.

    Reply
    • Thanks, it feels good to find a way of eating that my digestive system actually appreciates!

      I live up on a hill so I’m all good, luckily no one else was hurt either, just some majorly water-logged cars!

      Reply
  2. Awesome breakfast!

    Reply
  3. oh man I have never thought of eating canned coconut like that, but man does it look good

    Reply
  4. I could never do paleo! I love bread and dairy too much.

    Reply
    • I actually don’t miss them as much as I thought I would, but I don’t plan to stop eating dairy for good because a life without ice cream is too sad to even think about.

      Reply
  1. One Year Blogiversary! And My First Ever Giveaway! « greensandcoffeebeans

Leave a Reply

