Confession Time

Apologies for being such a dippy blogger lately. I’m trying to be more consistent but consistency is not my forte, working on it.

Anyway, time for some heavier stuff (which will be sprinkled with pictures of adorable baby animals because heavy stuff is gross). I’m not very good at opening up but here goes nothing.

Confession time, I’ve been in a huge funk lately.

the funk

(by the way, if you have not witnessed the magic that is “Old Gregg” you need to get yourself over to YouTube and watch it)

I don’t know why but all I know is that it is quite a stinky one. I’ve been super anxious lately and just really down on myself. I’ve been feeling pretty insecure lately thanks to not being able to shake my Christmas (small) weight gain (which is dumb, vain and incredibly counter-productive). On top of that I’ve been having some stomach issues with painful bloating, which doesn’t help the whole ego situation and is just all around annoying.

cute bulldog puppy

And in addition to that school has been really stressing me out lately. Even if I only have a single assignment due I still find myself all stressy and anxious about it. I don’t understand it because I usually have a pretty calm approach to school and rarely freak out about it and I’ve already wanted to pull my hair out twice in the past week. That stress turns into stress eating which only makes the above problem worse which leads to more stress and the nasty cycle continues.

two cute kittens

I’m just really homesick and a little overwhelmed.

two cute sleepy kittens

I’m not here to whine, because I honestly have nothing to whine about. I’ve got great friends up here, a wonderful opportunity for education and I’m still a very healthy person. But it feels good to be honest and it feels good to get things off my chest. My boyfriend did a great job of cheering me up last night when I was feeling extra funky and I feel much better today but the funk is still there.

basket of golden retriever puppies

I’m determined to pull myself out of this funk so here’s my plan:

  • For the tummy issues: I’m focusing on eating lots of plants and healthy fats. I’m (attempting, we’ll see how this goes) to cut out grains and dairy for a week or two and then gradually add them back in. I want to find out what’s causing the issues because I’ve been really good at staying away from gluten lately and I think this is the best way to isolate possible problem foods. It’ll probably be tough but I’m so ready for my stomach to feel normal again that it’s 100% worth it for me.
  • For the stress issues: MEDITATION. I’ve been doing it daily as part of my monthly resolution but I’ve seriously dropped back since starting school and have been doing a pretty pathetic 2 minutes a night. While I do think some meditation is better than no meditation I think re-devoting myself to a good 10 minute meditation session will be much more effective. I also think asking myself what I’m stressed about will help, because sometimes when I actually think about it I sometimes realize I have very little to be stress over and helps put things in perspective.
  • For the ego issues: I’m not setting a goal to lose the few pounds I gained over break. One that won’t fix the problem, the problem is my mindset, not the weight. Instead I’m focusing on nourishing my body with healthy foods, maintaining my current fitness routine because I’m really happy with it and incorporating some positive affirmations to get rid of that negative self talk.

That feels really good to get off my chest. I’m not good at opening up so this post was pretty tough to write, hence the puppy and kitty pictures, but I think it helps put things in perspective to put things out there. So I’m taking the leap.

And to end on a happy  note:

monkey and cat animal friends

I’ll be back to more normal upbeat posts tomorrow with a WIAW style recap of my weekend. Which was only funky in best way possible.

How do you pull yourself out of funk?

How do you cheer yourself up when you’re down? Phone calls to the boyfriend and lots of adorable animal pictures. If a puppy can’t make you smile then I don’t know what will.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

8 Comments

  1. Oh no, I hate hearing this! I am so sorry to hear about the funk your in. Try taking a deep breath girl; write down all the positives in your life; maybe do a craft. Anything that will help take your mind off of things that are actually bringing you down. Also, tell yourself you are beautiful bc you are 🙂

    Reply
    • Thank you for the support and all the great tips, I will definitely try some of those out! I’m feeling a lot better today, I think getting it all there and putting together a plan to fix it really helped, instead of just stewing in it.

      Reply
  2. exactly lady – the weight isn’t the issue. I think homesickness around this time of year is so normal, i love what you said about mediation. that is a great first step. funks blow but getting through them by trying to keep your sanity is what matters. don’t be too rigid or strict with yourself, it could make it worse

    Reply
    • Yeah I think spending the holidays at home then having to come back to a crazy semester probably isn’t helping the homesickness. I definitely don’t want to be too strict but I don’t want do nothing and stew in it, definitely gotta find a balance between the two.

      Reply
  3. I’m so glad you got all that out and never ever feel like you are “whining”. In fact you are just sharing the contents of your soul and that is admirable! I think it’s smart not to set a goal to lose weight explicitly and just concentrate on what’ll make your body feel good. It will go back to a “pre-holiday” state (not in terms of looks but feelings too) on its own that way. The meditation is definitely key, I applaud you for trying to change your mindset through constructive means.

    Reply
    • Thank you! I’ve learned that focusing on weight only drives me more crazy and doesn’t help anything. Self-confidence is way more important than a number on a scale!

      Reply
  1. Asheville and French Parties {WIAW} « greensandcoffeebeans
  2. Let’s Go Swimming and Vegetarian Paleo, Say What? {WIAW} « greensandcoffeebeans

Leave a Reply

