I Feel Like Dancing.

I can’t believe it’s already Thursday! I head back to Boone TOMORROW and it feels way too soon! I’m excited to start this semester but it feels like Christmas just happened and I’m kinda a fan of hanging out in workout clothes all day. Can I just stick with that? Denim is overrated.

thankful thursday

 

Thanks for hosting Jessie!

This week I’m thankful for dance. Why? Because it’s awesome.

But really, I’ve been dancing for a majority of my life (seriously like 18 years! Whoa) and unfortunately I’ve let it fall by the wayside the past year or so. I’m actually minoring in dance but I took all my technique classes (the classes that involve actual dancing) my freshman and sophomore year so for the first time in years I’m not taking any dance classes and it’s felt a little weird.

However, this weekend I had a practice for a Alumni dance concert that’s being put together for my high school dance teacher. It felt amazing to dance again (and made me realize how NOT in dance shape I’m in, that’s a whole set of muscles I haven’t used in a while!). And I realized how much I missed dancing.

(I’m the white girl in the back corner 🙂 )

I honestly don’t know what I would have dance if I didn’t have dance in my life. I’m a pretty quiet person and dance is such an amazing way for me to express myself, without having to talk.  I love the rush of connecting with each step and getting lost in the movement. Funnily enough I hate public speaking but put me up on a stage and I feel at home. It’s also the best stress reliever, I’ve met so many close friends through dance and it’s pretty much the only form of exercise I participated in until I went to college.

Backstage circa 2008 – purple hair!

Not to mention all the wonderful opportunities I’ve experience because of it, in high school I got to perform at Disney World!

African dancing in Animal Kingdom! Not the actual performance, but we can’t resist an opportunity.

I’m lucky that my parents put me into dance classes at such a young age and that I was able to find something I really thrive in.

Dance is harder to stay involved with after graduating high school, but this weekend reminded me that I need to make a better effort to find more dance opportunities. I miss it too much!

Have you ever taken dance classes?

What extra curricular activities did you do as a kid?

 

Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. Sounds so fun! I would definitely want to try a few out

    Reply
  2. I had no idea you were a dancer, that is pretty awesome and I would love to see where you go with it

    Reply
  3. My parents would never put me in dance class but a few girlfriends and I would make up dance routines to old 50’s music when we were younger and would add in splits and back-bends…Oh, I miss those days.

    It’s good to hear that you had a good time and rekindled a love for dance again.

    Reply
    • Isn’t it amazing all the crazy things our bodies could do when we were younger? I’m still pretty flexible thanks to lots of yoga but I was a straight up rubber band as a kid! I miss being able to jump straight into a split!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

