Exciting News and a New Year {MIMM}

Happy New Year’s Eve!

Sorry for not being the most consistent blogger lately, I’ve realized when I’m at home I got into full on lazy mode. It feels good but doesn’t bode so well for my productivity level, or my motivation to blog. But that’s okay, because isn’t the point of winter break to do absolutely nothing for a month? I’m going with yes. Gotta enjoy those school breaks while I still have them! Anyway…

Happy Monday!

(Thanks Katie and  congratulations on your wonderful news!)

First of all, can I just say that every Monday that I’m home on break is automatically marvelous because I have absolutely no obligations and it feels like the weekend. Sorry to rub that in a little more.

Secondly I have some exciting news!

I was recently contact by Tribesports to see if I’d be interested in partnering with their team. Um, YES! If you’ve never heard of Tribesports, it’s basically a social network for sports, fitness and health freaks like yours truly. You can use the website to track workouts, join fitness/health challenges, share advice and recipes and connect with others! I really love the concept of the site and even though I’ve only been a member of the site for the past week or two I’m already loving it!

Tribesports encouraged this

I’ll be sharing some fun workouts and graphics as part of my partnership with Tribesports. For example:

scales

This one I had to share right away because I love it so much. So true right? I used to be so fixated by the number on the scale. I don’t ever weigh myself anymore (seriously it’s probably been almost a year since I’ve stepped on a scale) and I’m so much happier because of it. That’s basically a long way of saying that I really love with this picture (and Tribesports) promotes; I’m so grateful they reached out to me and I’m excited to share more graphics like this with you guys!

Here’s my profile if you’re interested.

Some other things making my Monday marvelous?

Reconnecting with old friends. I met up with an old friend from elementary school on Thursday. She just had an adorable baby girl named Kylie in August and it was so good to see her and her daughter! The last time I saw her was back in June for her baby shower but before then I hadn’t seen her in probably 9 or 10 years! (Whoa, time flies!) I hope to do a better job of keeping in touch this time.

It feels so great to reconnect with old friends, I think that since Facebook and other forms of social media have gotten more popular we’ve become so lazy in staying in touch with old friends. We just check someone’s Facebook/Twitter/Blog to see what they’re up to instead of calling them up and having a real conversation of it. I’m really guilty of that.

Discovering Degrassi Junior High on Amazon.

degrassi junior high

It’s cheesy, Canadian, and fantastically 80’s but I’m obsessed! I’m already over half way through season 2. Judge me if you want for watching a show about middle schoolers but I do not care. I’m a sucker for the headbands and preteen drama.

Hello 80’s fashion. Too bad my family is less than thrilled by it.

Old Navy deals!

I stopped by Old Navy with so Christmas money to take advantage of their post-Christmas sale and walked out with these:

oldnavy

I snagged the sports bra for $6, the shirt (in pink) for $4, the workout capris for $10 (and they’re compression pants!) and the green pants for $17, except that they’re full length in real life and not ankle length like they are on the model. I’ll consider that a win.

I always go shopping with the intention of buying real clothes and some how end up buying workout clothes instead. Whoopsies.

I also had a $20 groupon to a local running outfitter store and picked up a long sleeve Asics top (originally $40). I’m slowly racking up the cold weather running apparel!

Family movie outings. Something crazy happened yesterday where everyone in my family had the day off work and no other obligations so all five of us actually spent sometime together at the same time. It’s sad how infrequently that happens but with school/work/other plans we see each other but not often all at the same time. We all went out to lunch yesterday afternoon at Sweet Tomatoes, and I had my usual obscenely huge salad:

sweetomatoes

You have to go for the double plates. Seriously. I also had some un-pictured chocolate/vanilla swirled frozen yogurt and granola, the best way to end a meal in my opinion.

That night we had plans to go bowling because the local bowling alley was really good deals on Sunday nights, but when we got there the place was packed, it was an 1.5 hour wait for a lane! So we headed to a movie instead. We all compromised on Skyfall (my brothers wanted to see Django Unchained, my dad wanted to see Les Miserables and I wanted to see Monsters, Inc 3D – yes I’m a child, and some how Skyfall was middle ground?). I’m not a big James Bond fan, or action movies in general but Skyfall was actually pretty good. Plus Daniel Craig wasn’t terrible to look at.

daniel craig

I can deal with that for 2 hours.

My New Year’s Eve is going to be a pretty chill one, I’m thinking about running a 5k at midnight, but odds are me running it are starting to look a little slim. I’ve still got about 2 hours to decide (procrastination much?) but home is pretty warm and cozy and race fees are $30, and $10 a mile is starting to sound a little steep. We’ll see what happens! I might just curl up with a glass of wine instead 🙂

What are your New Year’s plans?

Any New Year’s resolutions?

What did you do this weekend?

Next Post
Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. How fun! I love Sweet Tomatoes 🙂 that lava cake they have at dinner is amazing!

    Reply
  2. Let’s just say I have seen every Degrassi episode and even have been watching the new season… which I love. Guilty pleasure.

    Reply
    • I used to watch it religiously but I haven’t been keeping up with the new seasons but I’m planning on starting it from the beginning once I finish the original!

      Reply
  1. One Year Blogiversary! And My First Ever Giveaway! « greensandcoffeebeans

Leave a Reply

