What I Ate Wednesday, Christmas Style!

I hope everyone had an amazing Christmas! It felt great to unplug and spend some time with my family.

fampjs

Cue the Christmas Eve family matching pajama photo. I had a gnarly stomach ache at this point (all my fault, I couldn’t resist the gluten-filled Christmas cookies, never again) it took too much effort to put on the red shirt, but I tried to blend in anyway.

My mom loves giving a family gift and this year everyone got jingle jammies! Two Christmases ago she gave everyone Nerf guns, and we had way more fun with them than a bunch of adults should. Seriously, Nerf guns are the best.

Now for the food!

For breakfast I had this beauty of a waffle:

waffle

Okay more like three. It was been FOREVER since I’ve had a waffle, I usually hate shelling out the money for a gluten-free mix, but holy cow it was amazingggg. My mom spotted some gluten-free Bisquick mix at the grocery store, so we picked up a box and the waffles came out really good. The texture was almost identical to regular waffles. Oh waffles, I have missed you.

Once we were properly fueled with breakfast, it was time for presents! I’m still 5 years old, it’s okay.

It’s funny to see the different wrapping styles in my family. My mom’s presents are wrapped super neatly, I go the green route and wrap everything in newspaper and Trader Joe’s bags because I’m a big hippie 🙂

wrapping

And my brother just uses lots of duct tape:

wrapping2

Props to my family for finding awesome gifts for me, I didn’t want anything in particular this year. I’ve gotten to the point where I enjoy buying gifts for everyone else way more than I like receiving them. Saying that makes me feel a little old, in a good way I think.

presents1

presents2

I got some fun kitchen gadgets (including a juicer! Eeee I’m excited to try it out!), some fitness stuff (dumbells, yoga mat, running pouch) and a big box of Larabars courtesy of my brother the Trader Joe’s employee!

My family’s does our big meal of the day at lunch time rather than dinner so after unwrapping everything we turned into cooking machines and created this feast:

xmasspread

Starting with the oval dish at the bottom and moving clockwise we had:

  • Apple Sweet Potato Bake (followed this recipe)
  • Roasted Brussels Sprouts
  • Mashed Potatoes
  • Tofurkey
  • Black Bean and Corn Casserole (followed this recipe)
  • Tofurkey #2 (that’s what happens when you have two hungry vegetarian brothers!)
  • Green Beans
  • Collard Greens
  • Plus an unpictured ham for the parentals, cranberry sauce, cornbread muffins and mozzarella and garlic stuffed mushrooms

Everything turned out delicious!

After lunch I proceeded to put myself into a serious sugar coma. My mom and I had a mini-bake session Christmas Eve and made gluten-free spritz cookies(!)

spritz1

Okay, this is a picture of the regular ones because the gluten-free ones came out a little crumbly but they still tasted AMAZING. Buttery, sugary, goodness.

We also made pecan pralines. I say we made but really my mom made them while I napped. She did all the hard work and I just woke up later and stuffed my face. Not sorry about it.

Let’s not talk about how much sugar I ate yesterday. It’s not pretty. I don’t feel bad because Christmas comes once a year so I live it up, but I woke up with one serious sugar hangover this morning. I don’t think my poor body knew what to do with all the sugar. Sorry body.

I thoroughly enjoyed all the Christmas goodies but I’m definitely ready to get some veggies back in my system.

kale2

Days of sugary filled goodness are fun, but my body definitely feels 24528340598230x better when I fill it with plants. Come back to me kale.

Do you like practical or fun gifts?

Does your family have any Christmas traditions?

Waffles or Pancakes? Waffles!

Leave a comment

9 Comments

  1. balancing all those sugars out, how we roll around the holidays too.

    Reply
  2. Looks like you had a great Christmas. I too had a quite a sugar hangover the next day, but it was so worth it!
    I’d definitely choose waffles! I haven’t made waffles since I moved into my own place almost a year ago because I didn’t have a waffle maker, but I just got a perfect little one for Christmas. I’m pretty sure it’s all I’ll be eating for breakfast for the foreseeable future! 🙂

    Reply
    • I think most people were suffering from a sugar hangover! I’m glad I wasn’t the only one!
      I don’t have a waffle maker at my apartment but I know my roommate has one at her parents house so I might have to convince her to bring it back with her 🙂

      Reply
  3. Awee!!! You & your family in your matching Christmas pajamas is just ADORABLE!!! Glad you had such a great holiday ❤

    Reply
  1. One Year Blogiversary! And My First Ever Giveaway! « greensandcoffeebeans

Leave a Reply

