Friday Rambles

Guys, I’m seriously slacking on my Pilates posts, sorry about that! I promise to make up for it later. But in the mean time, I’m feeling some rambles, I couldn’t think of a cool alliteration for it so you are just stuck with Friday rambles. Get ready, I have the attention span of a 5 year old, actually they might have me beat.

  • I leave for South Carolina tomorrow! We’re spending the weekend there to have pre-Christmas with my grandfather, aunt and uncle. My boyfriend’s tagging along too because we’ve been dating for 6 years and he still hasn’t met my extended family, I hope he’s in for an all new level of crazy. Just kidding, my family’s not too bad. Sometimes…
    fam2

    circa 2010

    Two things about this picture, one, it is physically impossible for my family to take a picture where everyone’s eyes are open, seriously every single picture someone is blinking, two, my family makes me look like a shrimp. I promise I’m actually 5’4″ my family is just a bunch of super tall freaks.

  • I’m very upset at my gut right now for hating gluten. I just want to stuff my face with spritz cookies but nooooooooo. Boo.

    spritz1
    You look so tasty yet you are so so mean to my tummy. Gluten-free substitute cookies just aren’t the same. You best believe I’m eating like 50 of these puppies Christmas morning, the day after Christmas is already super depressing so having a terrible stomach ache won’t make it much worse. That sounds a little terrible but it’s my plan.

  • Even though they’re not spritz cookies, I’ve had some pretty good gluten-free cookies lately, first these guys:

    almondcookies
    Then I picked up some of these guys at the store:
    gluten free gingerbread cookies
    Hit the gingerbread spot. They were light and fluffy, the texture was a little crumbly but I didn’t mind. Only 12 come in a box which is kinda lame, but probably a good thing because if I go crazy and eat the whole box I won’t feel too bad about it.

    And tonight I made these:

    pbblossoms
    PEANUT BUTTER BLOSSOMS. I. Love. These. Cookies. Luckily gluten-free peanut butter cookies are super easy to make and all I had to do was add the Hershey’s kiss. Dark chocolate Hershey’s kiss of course.

    For the cookie, I used this recipe from the Detoxinista, except I left out the salt because I was using salted peanut butter and I added 1/4 cup almond meal because my batter was looking pretty wet and I was scared it wouldn’t hold up the kiss. I found the Detoxinista’s blog through a google search and she has a ton of grain-free and flourless recipes that I’m super excited to try out soon! I love google blog finds!

  • One box, four cats

    1box4cats
    They are all a bunch of crazy kids. Who needs a cat bed when you have an Amazon box?

  • I’ve had some really awesome workouts this week thanks to having no daytime obligations, I love break.
    Friday: Yoga, I’m trying not to slack on the yoga since my 30 day yoga streak is over, but I definitely did during exams and my muscles were tightttt, but by the end of class they were all nice and loose-y goose-y
    Saturday: Weightlifting, I’ve been feeling a little weak and squishy lately so I’m trying to get more strength training back into my routine, yay muscles!
    Sunday: An Interval Training class at the gym, I haven’t been to one of these since the summer and I really enjoyed it! The class is 90/60/30 second intervals of cardio and strength training. I worked hard then went home and ate lots of Christmas cookies. It’s all about balance right?
    Monday: Pilates! I love being able to go to classes outside of my University, it gives me lots of good ideas/cues for my classes. This instructor was so good and intense, my abs were feeling it! And I ran a 5k on the treadmill after class.
    Tuesday: Another yoga class, I loved this particular teacher, her classes are very flowy and she always gives savasana adjustments which feel amazing!
    Wednesday: 5.5 mile run! My longest run since May!
    Thursday: 5k run with the running group at my gym and weights. Maybe not the best decision to run back to back days but my legs were feeling good and I don’t get many opportunities to run with other people so I jumped on the chance.
    Today!: Yoga and more weights! My legs were tight after all that running!

    That was a lot of words and not a lot of pictures, let me make up for that:


  • Lately I’ve been renewing my love for kale:

    kale1
    kale2
    I was on a big spinach kick for a while because it’s easier to prepare, but I picked up a bag of kale at Trader Joe’s the other day which was a fantastic decision. I love my greens!

Are you traveling anywhere for Christmas?

What are your weekend plans?

Have you baked any Christmas cookies/goodies? I want details!

Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. For some reason, TJs has the BEST kale! Like I eat it straight out of the bag haha. Those ginger spice cookies look yummy:)

    Reply
  2. Have an awesome time in SC w/ your extended family. I’m sure the family will love your boy ❤

    Reply
  3. enjoy life cookies are the bomb, I hate that my body is allergic to gluten too. kill me this time of year

    Reply

Leave a Reply

