Thankful Thursday Story Time

Happy Thursday/Last day ever because the world is ending tomorrow. You guys better live it up. I’m spending my last night on Earth wrapping Christmas presents and watching Food Network. Hopefully the world won’t end tomorrow because that is a pretty lame last day.

Well besides the world hopefully not ending tomorrow, I have a couple other things I’m thankful for.

thankfulthursday

I’m thankful for a roof over my head and financial support.

Story time: today I was on my way to Target (oh, Target I have missed you so much, it’s a lonely existence in Boone without you), to finish my shopping for Christmas parents. Before leaving home I was jokingly giving my dad a hard time for drinking the rest of the coffee in the coffee because I was just about to pour myself some. My dad was nice enough to give me a couple dollars so I could buy myself some Starbucks while I was at Target.

While driving to Target I was stopped at red light and to the left of me was a one-legged homeless man holding up a sign asking for change. In that moment a overwhelming sense of guilt washed over me. Here I was sitting in a car my parents paid for on my way to buy Christmas gifts for my family when this man had next to nothing. You can call me a sucker, but I’m okay with that. So I did what I could in that moment and gave him my coffee money. It seemed wrong to use the money for a cup of coffee I could make at home when I could give it to someone who really needed it.

The second I rolled my window down to hand him the money I saw his face light up and it warmed my heart more than any cup of coffee could. That moment made me realize just how grateful I am to have a place to come home to every night, because so many people don’t. It can be so easy to take something like a roof over your head for granted, but it’s something that can easily be taken away from us for a number of reasons. So today I’m thankful for my house and my apartment at school, the fact that I have a place to call home and parents who help support financially while I’m in school. And it wasn’t much, but I’m thankful I was able to help that guy out a little bit.

That was a lot deeper than I planned on going, but it really brightened my day to see that man smile.

On a lighter note…

I’m also thankful for Trader Joe’s. Maybe that’s silly but where else can you buy wine, coffee, gluten-free pizza, peanut butter and brussels sprouts (AKA the only things you need in life) for super cheap? Nowhere. Thank you Joe the Trader for being one magical bargain hunting genius.

What are you thankful for?

Are you a Trader Joe’s Fan?

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. that was so nice of you! I need to get my butt to trader joes, it has been way too freaking long

    Reply
  2. Aww what a sweet thing you did for that man! I don’t think you should feel guilty, instead be proud of yourself that you recognized the contrast of standards of living in society and took ACTION. Most people recognize it and shrug it off or ignore it! You are a special one.
    And why yes, I love TJ’s, back off my man! 😛

    Reply
    • Thanks! I just feel guilty that I have financial and have worked relatively little for it, while this man was sitting in the cold doing everything he could for a few dollars. I guess I shouldn’t feel guilty but it’s hard not to sometimes when I see good people who have so little.
      We’re going to have to duke it out for Joe!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

