Healthy Holiday Recipe: Pumpkin Crisp {WIAW}

Happy Wednesday!

Is it bad since I’m on break I no longer know what day it is? I just realized that there’s less than a week until Christmas! Say whatttt.

Luckily I went shopping yesterday and finished most of my Christmas shopping, I just have one more thing to pick up for my brother who is incredibly indecisive and doesn’t know what he wants. And I can’t go my usual route and just buy him food because he works at Trader Joe’s and gets already gets a discount on all the delicious snacks he could ever want. If anyone has (cheap) gift ideas for an 18 year old college freshman please send them my way.

Is there anyone in your family that’s hard to buy for? My mom is easy because she drops lots of hints but my dad and brothers either don’t want anything, only want cash, or want things my tiny college budget can’t afford. Men always have to be so difficult.

Anyway, back to the food. I’ve got another healthy holiday treat for you! But first, some of the food I’ve been enjoying lately:

veggies

I’ve been roasting veggies like it’s my job. Tempeh + Sweet Potato + Onion + Brussel Sprouts

salad

My family grabbed dinner at La Rancherita last Saturday when we were in downtown Apex. I remember eating there a couple of times as a kid, but we hadn’t been in a longgg time. Even though I’m not a fan of most Mexican places I loved this restaurant, their menu was full of vegetables and vegetarian friendly meals! Such a change from most Mexican places around here that are all tortilla, cheese and refried beans. I was so excited to see a non-taco salad on the menu!

spritz1
fudge

Lots of Christmas goodies, I’ve been trying to practice this little thing called moderation where I don’t eat all the Christmas treats in one day. I’m not very good at moderation but I’m doing much better than I have in years past!

I’ve also been trying to cool it on the gluten too, I’ve been indulging in way too much lately and while a cookie here and there doesn’t bother me too much, I’ve been eating much more than that and my poor digestive system has been feeling the consequences. Daily tummy aches are no fun. But I still plan to eat as many gluten-filled cookies as humanly possible on Christmas Day. It’s all about balance right?

My mom cooked up a big pot of vegetable soup over the weekend which I’ve been enjoying for lunch almost daily. Except I keep forgetting to take a picture of it. Sorry. She made it using a carton of vegetable stock, a jar of chunky Ragu sauce, a bag of frozen soup vegetable and a can of black beans. So easy and so dang tasty! I’ve been bulking it up with some microwaved kale to add some greens into the mix.

hotchocolate

I’m newly obsessed with making my own hot chocolate, I love that I can control what goes in the mix and I can get a chocolate fix without all the extra sugar. My mix lately has been 1 cup of plain unsweetened almond milk, 1 tablespoon cocoa powder, 1 teaspoon honey, a dash of vanilla extract and a sprinkle of cinnamon. I think I’ve had this 4/7 nights this week!

And now for a healthy holiday recipe, I made this for the dessert potluck my friends had a couple weeks ago. I was worried it might taste a little too healthy but my friends gave it their approval!

Pumpkin Crisp

(Gluten-free, free of refined sugar)

pumpkin2

Ingredients

The Base

  • Two 15oz cans of pumpkin
  • 3 large eggs
  • 1/3 cup honey (other liquid sweeteners should work as well)
  • 1/3 cup milk of choice
  • 1 tsp pumpkin pie spice
  • 1 tsp vanilla

The Topping

  • 1.5 cups rolled oats (make sure they’re certified GF if that’s an issue for you)
  • 1/4 cup shredded coconut
  • 1/4 chopped walnuts
  • 1/4 cup honey
  • Pumpkin pie spice

Directions

  1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees
  2. In a large bowl mix together the ingredients for the base and pour the mixture into a greased 8″ x 10″ baking dish.
  3. Place the pumpkin mixture in the oven for 20 minutes
  4. While the pumpkin mixture is baking, combine the ingredients for the topping until all ingredients are well combined.
  5. Removed the pumpkin mixture from the oven and spread the topping mixture over top covering as much of the pumpkin as possible.
  6. Place back in the oven for another 15-20 minutes or until the pumpkin mixture has firmed up and the topping is golden brown

pumpkin1

Well maybe pumpkin isn’t the most Christmas-y flavor but that’s okay, I love it anyway.

What’s your favorite Christmas dessert? Cooooookkkkiiiieeeessss! I’m a Christmas cookie monster 🙂

Is there someone in your family who’s notoriously hard to buy for?

What’s the best Christmas gift you’ve ever given (or received)?

Previous Post
Leave a comment

7 Comments

  1. I’ve never seen a pumpkin crisp recipe before.. so thank you! It sounds amazing =)

    Reply
  2. roasted veggies never go wrong! yum!

    Reply
  3. I’ve heard of apple crisp and peach crisp, blueberry crisp and rhubarb crisp. But never have I seen pumpkin crisp before. Oh my, it looks wonderful!

    And roasted veggies have been on my menu a lot too.

    Reply
    • Thanks! I’d actually never had a pumpkin crisp before making this one but it was a great way to use up some of the cans of pumpkin I had lying around my apartment.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

