The Gobbler 5K

The Gobbler 5K was actually on December 1, which makes this post only 2.5 weeks late. Whoops, I guess I’m a little bit of a procrastinator. Sowwy.

This race in particular is really special to me because I ran it last November and it was my very first race. Basically, you can blame The Gobbler for my race addiction 🙂

The race started bright and early at 8:30, one day I’ll learn to stop planning things on Saturday mornings and actually sleep in. One day.

It was a pretty chilly morning but  not too terrible for December in the mountains, I hate running in the cold and my feet and hands were a little frozen at the start of the race, but they thawed out some after a few minutes. The cold air was a little rough on my lungs but I was feeling pretty good otherwise.

The course kinda sucked because it started with a sharp right turn and we had to stick to the sidewalks. That’s my one pet peeve about Boone races, there are only so many (relatively) flat running paths in the city and most are main roads so they can’t be shut down, which is understandable but starting 260 people on a sidewalk creates some really frustrating congestion. There was also one KILLER hill about 2 miles in, we actually ran down that hill last year so it was a little mean to reverse the course and make us run up it this year. I told myself it didn’t matter how much I slowed down as I tackled that best, but I was not allowed to walk, once I start walking I lose momentum and I struggle to get it back, luckily I was all to power through and I took that hill down.

Photo on 2012-12-01 at 14.56 #2

I finished in 31:30 which was actually probably closer to 31:00 since I started way back in the crowd at the starting line. Definitely not a PR, but I wasn’t expecting it to be and I’m pretty happy with 31:00.

Last year I finished in just shy of 37 minutes, that means I’ve dropped 6 minutes off my time in the past year and I think that’s something to be pretty proud of. Sometimes I have a bad run and get a little down on myself and then I remember a year and a half ago I couldn’t even consistently run a full mile, and since then I’ve run numerous 5K’s, an 8K, and a 10K and that’s something to be proud of. Not to mention last year I’m pretty sure I would have never made it up that hill!

I’m never going to be the fastest runner and I may never place in a race but I’m completely okay with that. Running is a constant challenge for me and something that has never come easily for me, but that’s one of the reasons why I love it. With every milestone I reach and every second I knock off my PR, or every step I add to my PDR I’m filled with an immense sense of pride with what my body can do. And I hope that my running continues to grow in the next year.

Oh and I forgot to mention the best part about The Gobbler is the cobbler at the finish line.

They even had gluten-free! I enjoyed a bowl of blackberry gluten-free cobbler and it was really delicious. Definitely a winner as far as finish line foods go!

What was your first race?

What’s the best finish line food you’ve seen? I think the cobbler wins that one, but the Stickboy goodies at the Mayview Madness 5K were a close second!

Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. Congrats on your PR! My first race was a 5k in Parma Ohio about 5 years ago I think. Was hooked ever since. Best post race food? Has to be the catered breakfast by an incredible chef – Chef Bill Bailey whose also a fellow ultra runner, after BR100

    Reply
  2. Congratulations on your PR girl! You went out & were a ROCK STAR!! =)

    Reply
  1. 2013 « greensandcoffeebeans
  2. One Year Blogiversary! And My First Ever Giveaway! « greensandcoffeebeans

Leave a Reply

