Snack Bar Cookies

Saturday night my brain was on the verge of implosion after 6 straight hours of homework. Yep, as fun as it sounds. Luckily, baking up these cookies gave me a nice little break from the books, and they make a great study snack too!

cookie2

When I set out to make these cookies I was looking for something healthy and packed full of healthy fats to power me through a couple more hours of studying.  Basically, I wanted a snack bar in a fun cookie shape, because cookies make everything better, you know it’s true.

So as a heads up, don’t think of these as a dessert-y cookie, they’re not overly sweet but I ate the entire batch in two days so I can safely say they’re still delicious.

Snack Bar Cookies

(Gluten-Free, Vegan Option)

cookie1

Ingredients

  • 1.5 cups rolled oats (make sure they’re certified GF if that’s an issue for you)
  • 0.5 cups unsweetened shredded coconut
  • 1 cup milk of choice (I used Blue Diamond’s Unsweetened Almond and Coconut Blend)
  • 0.25 cups peanut butter
  • 0.25 cups pepitas
  • 2 scoops protein powder (I used unflavored pea protein)
  • 1 tbsp flax seed meal
  • 3 tbsp water
  • 2 tbsp coconut oil, melted
  • 2 tbsp honey*
  • 1 tsp pumpkin pie spice
  • 1 tsp cinnamon

*If you have normal taste buds you’ll probably want to increase this to 0.25 cups, I don’t like things very sweet, just a warning. Also, you can sub agave, maple syrup or another liquid sweetener if you want to keep the cookies vegan

Directions

  1. Preheat your oven to 350 degrees
  2. In a small bowl, combine the flax seed meal and water, let sit for a few minutes.
  3. Mix the dry ingredients together in a mixing bowl, in a separate bowl, stir together the wet ingredients including the flax egg.
  4. Pour wet ingredients into the dry and stir until combined.
  5. Scoop the batter on to a lightly greased cookie sheet and back for 10-12 minutes, taking the cookies out when they are slightly underdone because they will continue to cook on the pan.
  6. Enjoy as a snack or during an intense study session, and just remember if you eat half the batch in one night it’s okay because they’re healthy 🙂

Makes 24-26 two-inch cookies

I hope you enjoy!

What’s your favorite healthy study/homework/work snack?

What’s your favorite kind of cookie? I don’t think I’ve ever had a cookie, healthy or not, that I didn’t like 🙂

Previous Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Lea, these sound awesome! I don’t think I have a favorite cookie. I could say sugar, but then snickerdoodles come to mind, and then theres peanut blossoms. Ah, just way to hard to pick Ha Ha =)

    Reply
    • Thanks! I don’t think I could pick a favorite cookie either, they’re all good! But peanut butter blossoms are AMAZING, but so are a sugar and snickerdoodles!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

