Black Saturday 5k and Weekend Shenanigans

Black Saturday 5k

Last Saturday I ran in Appalachian’s Black Saturday 5K. I had a 2-mile run on my training plan for Saturday so I figured why not bump it up another 1.1 miles? Good choice.

Bonus was the entry for the race was $10 for students. I like. My wallet likes too. Why aren’t all races $10?

The race went along with Appalachian’s Black Saturday. Even though I’ve been at App for four seasons of football I still don’t understand what Black Saturday is. All I know is that it’s a home football game and everyone where’s black, and usually at the end of October, except this year. I don’t think there’s much more to it than that. So what do I where to a Black Saturday 5K?

Neon green, because I just can’t seem to play by the rules.

Going into this race I definitely wasn’t trying to PR, I just wanted to enjoy my run in get some miles in. Mission accomplished. It definitely wasn’t a speedy race, but it was still nice.

The race started at 8AM on a COLD Saturday morning. You should all know by now how much I hate the cold, luckily I warmed up pretty quickly as I started running, but I still like to be a whiney little wuss. I got to break in my new long sleeve shirt from Old Navy though, which I ended up really loving (and it had thumb holes!). FYI highlighter yellow/green wasn’t my first color choice, but I’m not picky when things are on clearance. Plus I won’t get hit by a car in it.

The course was a big loop around campus, aka the flattest part of this little mountain town I live in. It was a small race (like everything else in Boone), with about 150 people, so we were stuck running on sidewalks. I don’t usually mind sidewalks too much, except that race basically started on one, even in a small race that’s not an ideal situation. The first half mile was pretty congested, but after that the crowds started to thin out a little and it wasn’t too bad after that.

I always forget how much harder it is to run at elevation, especially compared to last month’s Triangle Run/Walk For Autism 5K.

I realized I need to start taking my phone with me when I run so I can snap pictures of priceless moments like having to side step a pile of hair extensions on the sidewalk. Someone had a fun Friday night.

I finished in 31:55 not at all speedy, but that’s okay! I was think back to a year ago when I ran my first 5K and finished in 37 minutes, so I’m proud that now I now consider a 32 minute 5K slow.

Weekend Shenanigans

My family came to visit this weekend and it was so good to see them again. It’s been about a month since I last saw them so we had lots of catching up to do!

They rolled into town around 11 and we headed out to lunch. A little early but I was hangry after my race. We had lunch at one of my favorite Boone restaurants, Coyote Kitchen.

 

I got an Isabella burrito: “Rice, black beans, sliced spinach, grilled tempeh, caramelized onion, pineapple, fried plantains, and chipotle cream cheese” with cranberry chipotle salsa, minus the tortilla, and sub sweet red vegan mayo for the cream cheese please.

This meal was so stinkin’ good. I mean, everything I’ve ever eaten at Coyote Kitchen is good, but this might take the cake. The combo of the sweet pineapple and plantains mixed with the spicy-ness of the salsa was AMAZING. I was so full afterwards but it was SO. WORTH. IT. I love you Coyote Kitchen.

After lunch we hit up the outlet mall, or basically the whole reason my mom came to Boone. We got some ridiculous deals at Gap and left with a 2 new pairs of pants (including a green pair!), a snazzy new cardigan, compression capris for $12(!!!) and a blue workout tank. I also got an early Christmas present of new boots (man-made, we don’t do leather over here) because for some reason all of my winter-appropriate shoes decided to fall apart.

Once we were thoroughly exhausted from out shopping adventure I took them back to my apartment to hang out for a little bit before dinner. Dinner was also a tasty meal, I took my family out to Black Cat Burrito (I’m sensing a theme here…) another of my favorite Boone establishments (which I’ve mentioned lots on the old blog, a quick search shows 8 different posts, can you tell I love Black Cat?).

 

I ordered a Satay it to Me Softly “tofu in a spinach wrap stuffed with broccoli, carrots, carmelized onions, a spicy thai peanut sauce, cheese & rice” minus the tortilla and cheese, one day I’ll go to a restaurant and order something off the menu with no changes. Some day. I’ve ordered this lots and it’s very tasty, I’m a sucker for anything with peanut sauce, and broccoli. I need to switch things up and try out some of their other burritos, but this one is so good, if it’s not broke why fix it? Variety is dumb. Kidding.

Sunday was pretty laid back. I put some air in my car tires because they were getting low, chores like this make me feel like such an adult, gross.

Sunday evening I had a meeting for the University Rec employees and since it was the last meeting of the semester we had a potluck to celebrate! Yay, I love potlucks! I made my mixed bean and sweet potato chili and these 4-ingredient peanut butter cookies because I’m an over-achieving potluck-er.

These cookies were scary good. Seriously tasty gluten-free cookies should not be this good. It’s a little criminal.

I’m happy to report people liked the food I brought! I’m never sure because my tastes are so different from most people so it makes me happy when other people like my food.

I spent the rest of Sunday night watching Breaking Amish with my neighbors. Not ashamed. Those Amish kids are crazy.

What did you do this weekend?

Do you have any races coming up? I also signed up for this 5k on December 1, and I’m volunteering for the High Country’s Girls on the Run 5K the weekend after that!

Does your school have any weird sports traditions? I think almost every school does!

Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. What an amazing weekend. I mean a great race, family time, and your food! Sounds perfect to me 🙂 🙂

    Reply
  2. I would wear a neon tee for a race too no matter what the theme! It’s so cool to compare fitness levels to years past. I like how you turned the “not so speedy” thought into something positive that showed you how your fitness level has changed from last year. I love vegan/vegetarian Mexican dishes and holy moly both of yours sound so good. I wish I had a place near me where I could get that stuff!

    Reply
    • I try to be positive about my race times, I’m not super competitive, so I’d much rather see personal improvement than to beat everyone else!
      That’s one of the perks of Boone, we’re tiny but we have some really awesome restaurants and most are vegetarian/vegan friendly!

      Reply
  1. 2013 « greensandcoffeebeans
  2. One Year Blogiversary! And My First Ever Giveaway! « greensandcoffeebeans

Leave a Reply

