Pilates Marathon and Current Favorites {WIAW}

Happy What I Ate Wednesday!

Thanks to Jenn for hosting every week!

I just got back to teaching back to back Pilates classes, so I’m a little tired but it was so much fun. I have to gush for a minute before we get to my eats! First I helped teach a special Pilates Sculpt class, basically a Pilates class using weights and magic circles the shake things up a little. I had a lot of fun teaching this, I got some friends to come out and it was just a nice change from the typical Pilates class format. I’m thinking about writing up a post with some weighted Pilates moves so let me know if you’d like to see more stuff like that. I like sharing my Pilates knowledge when I can!

The second class I taught was at the sorority dorm on campus, I was a little skeptical of this one at first because I wasn’t sure what to expect, but it was actually really awesome! The best thing about teaching in the sorority dorm is that everyone brings friends so lots of people came out and everyone was really enthusiastic about it!

Okay back to the food! I just needed a moment gush!

I’ll admit I did a terrible job of taking pictures yesterday so instead of recapping my days eats (they were boring anyway, trust me, I’m saving you!) here are some of my favorite new foods!

Kombucha

I tried a kombucha for the first time a few weeks ago when I found on sale at Earth Fare and I think I’m in love. This is going to be one very healthy but very expensive love affair. Luckily I found these guys:

They’re smaller, but still super tasty and less that $2. Gotta get my fix some how!

Banana Protein Mash

Okay it looks disgusting but stay with me for a minute. Why is it that really tasty combos look like poo? Anyway, I mashed together a banana, some protein powder, almond milk, peanut butter and pumpkin pie spice. So good together! Such an easy late night snack.

Baker’s Chocolate

Nothing new here, but it did comfort me last night during election coverage. Some people drink, and I eat ridiculously dark chocolate. I pick chocolate because chocolate doesn’t cause hangovers (:

Kit’s Organic Bars

I actually just ate this today but it was DELICIOUS! I had a coupon (you  know I love my coupons!) for buy one get on free so I picked up a couple and they are SO DANG GOOD. It tasted like a brownie! Okay, I haven’t had a brownie in a while, so maybe my judgement’s a little off but regardless, SO GOOD. It was like a Larabar, but less date-y, in a good way. I should totally be a food critic with my awesome food description skills.

Curry Sauce

I think I’m 7 for 7 this week for dinners that include curry sauce. No exaggeration.

Spaghetti squash with ground tempeh, tomatoes, onions, kale and of course curry sauce!

Cauliflower, brussel sprouts, onion and and green bell pepper sauteed with curry sauce and coconut milk!

CHRISTMAS FLAVORS

Because if you didn’t hear Thanksgiving doesn’t exist anymore and Christmas season starts right after Halloween. I’m not complaining though because I love Christmas flavors! I want to eat anything and everything gingerbread! And I’m loving Clif’s Peppermint Stick bar. I’m not going to lie I’m really excited about Christmas stuff this year, even if it is freakishly early.

And this granola me and my roommates just made:

We used this recipe from Claire Robinson except we used an extra 1/2 cup of oats instead of wheat germ, subbed honey for agave, and cinnamon for the cardamom, x-ed the salt and pepper and added vanilla extract. Yes we make granola at midnight, because I have awesome roommates like that. This granola is way too good and way too easy to make and I’m pretty sure I’ve already eaten way too much.

What foods/combos/snacks are you loving lately?

Do you like Christmas season? Or do you get sick of it quickly?

Would you guys be interested in some informational posts about Pilates? I’m always looking to spread the Pilates love!

Leave a comment

7 Comments

  1. I am really enjoying filling dates with nut spread! mmmmmm, so tasty!
    And I LOVE Christmas time so much & can never see myself getting sick of it 🙂

    Reply
  2. Oh, the days of having energy to be awake at midnight, hahaha. I have one of those Kit’s bars in my pantry, I really need to try it! I would love to see those pilates moves. I really like doing pilates and want to see if you have anything new that I haven’t tried yet! Don’t apologize for gushing, it’s fun to read about what you’re passionate about.

    Reply
  3. I had spaghetti squash this week too. Isn’t it just the greatest? 🙂

    I’ve done Pilates a few times before in a summer gym class way back my freshman year. It was fun though. Maybe I should look for some videos online and try it again!

    Reply
    • Spaghetti squash really is the greatest, it’s so easy to make and it fills me up without the weighed-down, carbo-overload feeling of regular pasta!
      And you should definitely try Pilates again! I’m a little biased but I love it!

      Reply
  1. Thankful Thursday #2 « greensandcoffeebeans

Leave a Reply

