Pumpkin Curry Stir Fry {WIAW}

Happy Halloween! Even if it feels more like January where I am. Maybe we should all just postpone Halloween until next week when the whether isn’t stinky? I think yes.

I have an easy fall recipe for you guys, but first it’s Wednesday and that means it’s What I Ate Wednesday time! Thanks Jenn for putting this together week after week!

Spooky Snacks and Healthy Halloween Treats

Breakfast:

Since classes were cancelled due to the snow, I got to sleep in (until 9 am, I can’t even tell you the last time I slept that late! Yes, I’m not a normal college student) and enjoy a leisurely breakfast while drinking coffee and watching Food Network. Snow day perfection.

Oatmeal with plain greek yogurt, peanut butter, flax meal, cinnamon and pumpkin pie spice. I ran out of protein powder last week so I’ve been adding Greek yogurt to my oatmeal for a little protein boost, it’s been a nice change but I miss my protein powder a little. If you’re interested I use Now Foods Pea Protein Powder, it’s pretty good, cheap and vegan!

I had an apple a little later too.

Lunch:

For lunch I got a weird craving for a smoothie. Craving a smoothie when it’s 30 degrees outside and snowing? I don’t get it either. But I went with it anyway. Then I bundled up in 2 pairs of pants, a long sleeve shirt, a hoodie and fuzzy socks, even though we had the heat on. I’m such a cold weather wimp.

Green smoothies make a great Halloween-ish meal because they look like swamp water. Almond milk, plain greek yogurt, peanut butter, honey, cocoa powder, cinnamon and spinach. I probably used a little too much plain greek yogurt but it still hit the spot! And yes I have Minnie Mouse glasses, I know you’re jealous.

Snacks:

Snacks consisted of too much halloween candy (Snickers, why are you so dang tasty?), two fried eggs, a slice of Health-ified Pumpkin Pie 

And this little treasure I found at the grocery store over the weekend:

THEY’RE FINALLY BACK! Dear Clif, if you made these year round it would make me one very happy girl, thanks. I’m already sad it’s gone. Luckily I also picked up a Gingerbread bar too. I love holiday flavors!

Dinner:

Dinner was leftover Mixed Bean and Sweet Potato Chili from Saturday’s Halloween party. Yay leftovers!

I also had some cottage cheese and peanut butter before bed, but it didn’t look too pretty.

Now time for that recipe, I don’t know if it’s so much a recipe as a these-things-taste-really-good-together situation. I whipped this up for dinner tonight it was a really tasty combination.

Pumpkin Curry Stir Fry

(Gluten-free, Vegetarian)

Ingredients:

Directions:

  1. Combine tempeh, onions and olive oil in a pan over medium heat, cooking until tempeh is browned and onions are translucent
  2. While cooking the tempeh, steam the broccoli and spinach (I did this by combining them in a bowl with a little water and microwaving for 90 seconds)
  3. Add the broccoli, spinach, tomatoes, pumpkin soup and curry sauce to the tempeh and onions, stirring until sauce is warmed and coating the mixture.
  4. Enjoy after a long and snowy day of class (or any day!)

I used Lightlife’s Organice Flax Tempeh for this recipe. Last month (I’m such a slacker!) I was contacted by Lightlife asking if I would be interested in mentioning their products on my blog. After reading up on the company’s history and philosophy I agreed. Lightlife is really dedicated to providing cruelty-free meat alternatives and they donate 5% of their profits to organizations that protect children,  the environment and human rights. Basically they’re a really awesome company and I’m a fan.

I remember living off Lightlife’s Smart Dogs and Ham Slices when I first went vegetarian. Nowadays I’m not so into faux-meats but I was glad to see they offer several types of tempeh. I’ve only ever bought Trader Joe’s brand tempeh in the past, but I picked up Lightlife’s a couple of weeks ago at the grocery store and I really loved it. I also loved that it was gluten-free (Trader Joe’s isn’t) and the flax seeds made a fun addition. It’s definitely going to become a staple in diet!

They also sent me this fun little video:

Animals made from vegetables are definitely tastier!

FYI, Lightlife didn’t pay me to say nice things about them, I just think they’re awesome.

 

What are your Halloween plans?

Holiday flavor showdown, Pumpkin or Gingerbread? I pick both. Yes that’s a cop out

Do you like Tempeh? I know a lot of people don’t, but I’m a huge fan!

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. I can’t eat tempeh 😦 My body rebels against soy!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

