Fall Favorites {WIAW}

I can’t believe it’s only Wednesday. This week has been longggg and I’m so ready for the weekend. It’s just one of those weeks.

Spooky Snacks and Healthy Halloween Treats

This week my appetite has just disappeared. I don’t know what’s up with it (stress maybe?) but I haven’t been hungry at all, which is weird because we all know how much this girl loves to eat.

Instead of boring you with my lame Tuesday eats, I thought I’d share some of my favorite fall foods. Fall is one of my favorite seasons, especially when it comes to food. While I miss all the delicious melons, peaches and berries of summertime, fall produce like apples and squashes galore, help ease the pain.

Apples

 

I’d be more sad that there’s so little fruit in season in the fall (or at least here in North Carolina) if it weren’t for apples. They make a great snack because they’re portable, tasty and packed with lots of fiber. Golden delicious are my favorites, but I haven’t met many apples I didn’t like (except red delicious, but no one actually likes those). One day last week I realized I had eaten 4 apples in one day. Whoops. If an apple keeps the doctor away, I’m thinking I won’t need a doctor’s appointment for the 5 years.

Sweet Potatoes

 

Sweet potato season is basically all year long in North Carolina, but I especially love them in the fall. I’ll eat them anyway you can make them, baked, mashed, as fries, the opportunities are endless with this little guy, but they’re especially good with a little coconut oil and cinnamon. Not to mention they’re full of vitamins and nutrients!

Chili

 

You already know from yesterday’s recipe how much I love chili. It’s the perfect fall meal, hearty but healthy, versatile, and most importantly WARM! I’m one of those people that’s always cold, so warm foods are a MUST for me when the weather starts getting cold. There’s nothing more comforting than a warm bowl of chili on a chilly (hehe) day.

Roasted Vegetables

 

During the fall my salad cravings take a nosedive. Not that I don’t still crave vegetables, but when I’m already cold, a salad just doesn’t sound all the appetizing. Luckily roasting vegetables lets me get all the veggie-goodness my body craves while keeping me warm and toasty. I just chop up a bunch of veggies, throw them on a baking sheet with some olive oil, salt, pepper and garlic and roast at 425 until they look done. I will roast any and every vegetable, but my favorites are zucchini, bell peppers, potatoes, brussel sprouts, and asparagus, okay that was a long list, but it’s not fair to make me pick my favorite.

PUMPKIN!

You know no blogger fall food round up is complete without pumpkin! I’m obsessed! Unfortunately, being gluten-free has cut down on a lot of the pumpkin treats I’ve been able to indulge in. Actually, that’s probably a good thing, because I’m pretty sure I could have eaten 20 loaves of pumpkin bread by now. Not even kidding. One gluten-free pumpkin treat I’ve been loving lately is Trader Joe’s Greek Pumpkin Yogurt. You heard me. Pumpkin AND Greek yogurt, in one lovely little container. If you haven’t tried it and you live near a Trader Joe’s, go track it down ASAP you won’t be sorry. And if you don’t live near Trader Joe’s, call up someone who does.

What are your favorite fall foods?

Are you pumpkin obsessed like the rest of the blogging world?

 

 

Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. I think honey crisp apples are my favorite thing about fall.. even more than pumpkin 🙂

    Reply
  2. Yum, I adore every single one of these foods in the fall!

    Reply
  3. Oh, chili! I haven’t made that for a while, I’m going to check out your recipe! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

