Mixed Bean and Sweet Potato Chili

Fall for me means it’s time for chili, lots and lots of chili.

Chili is the ultimate cold-weather comfort meal, it’s pretty much all I want to eat come winter time. It’s warm, hearty and healthy and pretty much one of my favorite meals. As a busy student I love that I can throw it in the crock pot before I leave for class and have dinner waiting for me when I get home, and that it makes lots of leftovers for quick dinners for the rest of the week.

I like my chili with a side of Buddha.

Mixed Bean and Sweet Potato Chili

(Vegetarian, Gluten-Free)

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup dry black beans (or one 15 oz can)
  • 1/2 cup dry chick peas (or one 15 oz can)
  • 1/2 cup dry pinto/white bean mix (or one 15 oz can)
  • 28 oz can diced tomatoes
  • 1 onion, diced
  • 1 medium to large baked sweet potato, cut into chunks
  • 1 poblano pepper, diced
  • 6-7 cups water + 1 stock packet (or veggie stock)
  • cumin
  • black pepper

Directions:

  1. If using dry beans soak them overnight
  2. Add all ingredients to the crock pot
  3. Cook for 6 hours on low with the lid on, and an additional hour one high with the lid off. I basically left the crock pot on low while I went to class, then cranked it up to high with the lid off until some of the extra liquid cooked off, I like my chili super thick, but you can skip the last step if you like things more liquid-y
  4. Snuggle up in a comfy chair on a cold day and enjoy! Then put off cleaning your crock pot as long as possible, I love crock pots, but not cleaning them.

Yummy.

What’s your favorite cold-weather meal?

Leave a comment

16 Comments

  1. Oh girl, this chili recipe is AWESOME! My favorite meal to end on a cold night would definitely be any sort of chili. It truly is the perfect fall dinner πŸ™‚

    Reply
  2. This looks incredible- and full of fiber and protein! Veggie chili is always my favorite:) HAppy WIAW!

    Reply
  3. I really need to try sweet potato chili – everyone raves about it and it looks SO good πŸ™‚

    Reply
  4. I need to try this!! Sweet potatoes and chili are some of my favorite comfort foods!

    Reply
  5. I’ll have to try sweet potatoes in chili. I never even tried regular potatoes in chili, but with the spices it sounds delicious!

    Reply
  1. Fall Favorites {WIAW} « greensandcoffeebeans
  2. Health-ified Pumpkin Pie, A Halloween Party & Snowicane! « greensandcoffeebeans
  3. Pumpkin Curry Stir Fry {WIAW} « greensandcoffeebeans
  4. MIMM: Running, Massages and Thanksgiving! « greensandcoffeebeans
  5. Black Saturday 5k and Weekend Shenanigans « greensandcoffeebeans
  6. One Year Blogiversary! And My First Ever Giveaway! « greensandcoffeebeans

Leave a Reply

