WIAW Fall Break Style

I missed you guys yesterday! I was feeling pretty pooey and not like writing, so I didn’t. Funny how that works. I have lots to catch up on though, I owe you guys a race recap and a chili recipe, but I’ll probably procrastinate more so it might make a couple days (:

Spooky Snacks and Healthy Halloween Treats

 

So I eat basically the same thing every Tuesday, it’s one of my busiest days of the week, so instead of showing you the same lame snacks I switching it up this week. Instead, I’m going to show you some of the delicious things I ate over fall break. For some reason, my meals get so much more interesting when my parents are footing the bill…

Wednesday

 

Bye bye mountains! The view coming down the mountain on the way home is amazing! Too bad I have to keep my eyes on the road and be safe and what not.

I drove home right after class on Wednesday and grabbed dinner with my dad at Tijuana Flats as soon as I got home. Three hours of driving can work up an appetite.

 

Black bean salad the size of my head, with salsa, onions, olives and jalapenos on top. And lots of hot sauce. Adding hot sauce to salads is totally normal, I mean Tijuana Flats has a hot sauce bar, of course I couldn’t leave it alone.

My salad was also supposed to have guacamole, I’ve found that at Tijuana Flats I only end up with guacamole 50% of the time, it wasn’t worth the energy to complain about it. I was already in a veggie induced bliss.

Thursday

I spent Thursday with my boyfriend, I managed to convince him to go pumpkin picking with me, except we didn’t really end up pumpkin picking so much as we went to the farmer’s market and picked one out. I can’t complain, you all know I love the farmer’s market!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

So many pumpkins! Luckily me and my boyfriend are both pumpkin freaks (he actually has a jack-o-lantern tattoo!), so we had lots of fun navigating the literal mountains of pumpkins!

For dinner we stopped by Whole Foods for some hot bar action. I consider it an accomplishment that I was able to convince my junk-food loving boyfriend to have dinner at Whole Foods. Well, he still got fried chicken.

Green beans, palak paneer, chana masala and mock chicken with curry sauce. Clearly I was feeling some Indian food. And the mock chicken was surprisingly good, I’m not to big on fake meats (even though I practically lived off them my freshman year), but this wasn’t too bad.

And my boyfriend got fried chicken, pork belly, macaroni and cheese and black beans. Yeah, we eat a little bit differently.

On the way home we got stuck in fair traffic, so I convinced my boyfriend to stop for fro yo while we waited it out. Which means he really loves me because he hates all things frozen and creamy.

 

The pinkish color is oatmeal cookie (I’m not sure why it was pink?) and peanut butter (so. freaking. good.) topped with reese’s dark chocolate chips, and chocolate covered raisins. Plus a peanut butter sauce that looked like peanut butter snot. Gross.

We finished the night with pumpkin beer!

 

It was pretty sweet for a beer but really spicy and fall-ish. It was pretty good!

Friday

I spent Friday doing absolutely nothing. It was pure bliss and I didn’t even change out of my PJs until 3:00pm. It was a beautiful thing.

For lunch I had some roasted veggies

 

 

So pretty.

I washed that down with some kombucha!

 

I picked one up from Earth Fare on the way out of town on Wednesday because it was on sale. This was my first time trying kombucha but it was really tasty! I think next time I might get a less sweet flavor though, I know I’m weird.

For dinner my parents and I went to Neomonde‘s a lebanese deli. I love this restaurant because they have lots of vegetarian and gluten-free options and it’s a deli so you can purchase everything by the pound to take home too!

 

I ordered a cup of Foul (a soup-ish stew-ish thing with chick peas, kidney beans and veggies), roasted tomatoes and cauliflower, roasted eggplant and a greek salad. Super delicious.

I also picked up a package of roasted chick peas but those disappeared pretty fast, so fast that I didn’t get a picture, whoopsies. They were very addictive.

Saturday

Saturday morning I ran in Triangle Run/Walk 5K for Autism. More on that soon! I owe you guys a recap. Soon!

After the race my parents were nice enough to take me out for lunch, at the always delicious Flying Biscuit.

 

I got the tofu scramble (tamari-marinated tofu, red and green peppers, mushrooms, onions and spinach) with a side of rosemary potatoes. Too good. Such a yummy post-race meal!

After dinner a little fro-yo action happened. I had a cold and obviously fro-yo is the best cure for that.

 

Tart yogurt, bananas, chocolate covered raises, candy corn (!!!), and non-snotty peanut butter. Delicious. Candy corn is an amazing fro yo topping fyi.

Sunday

My family had lunch at Sweet TomatoesΒ before I headed back to school. Even my brother made it to lunch with us.

 

A recycled picture, but I ate the same crazy amount of vegetables. Any meal where I can 10 servings of vegetables is a good one.

Well now I’m back at school, eating the same old boring stuff.

 

Where’s your favorite place to eat out?

What is your favorite meal to order out?

 

Leave a comment

13 Comments

  1. Oh I love Tijuana Flats! the hubs & I used to go there quite frequently when we lived in VA Beach. Love that they have happy hour :).

    Reply
  2. WOW! That salad IS monstrous and sounds perfect!!..next time you should definitely mention the guacamole mishap though πŸ˜€ Not sure if it’s just me but almost all your photos are appearing a little bite-sized lol..the descriptions sound uh-may-zing though. just wanted to let you know πŸ™‚

    Reply
    • I probably will mention the guacamole next time, I’m just usually so happy to have a huge salad in front of me that I don’t feel like mentioning it.
      That’s weird that the pictures are showing up so small for you, they look normal when I view them, maybe it’s the web browser you’re using? I don’t know, I’m stumped!

      Reply
  3. Mmm everything looks delicious as always, especially the Lebanese deli and whole foods! ( of course:) ) happy WIAW!

    Reply
  4. I put hot sauce in my salads too!! I totally get it. I recently convinced my boyfriend that it was a good idea too haha. Everything looks delicious by the way πŸ™‚

    Reply
  5. WOW yup that Fall Break food is lookin pretty awesome! Ain’t it funny how parents paying = fab food? πŸ˜‰ so cool that your bf has a Jack O Lantern tat. He should be a blogger haha he sounds pumpkin crazy enough! I’ve heard so many good things about Tijuana Flats. I need to go finally! I don’t think I have one near me in CT tho. I prob would’ve ordered what you got. That lebanese food looks awesome and so does your Whole Foods lunch. Boys getting fried food at WF, so typical. Whenever I go with a guy friend he gets the mac n cheese hahaha every time! I’m like how can you not eat these veggies!

    Reply
    • Haha, why are boys so obsessed with mac n cheese? I don’t get it!
      And you should definitely try out Tijuana Flats if you’re ever near one, their food is really good (and affordable!).

      Reply
  6. Not going to lie – I love spending the whole day in my jammies πŸ™‚ No shame at all! haha.
    Man that fro yo looks super good – could use some right now πŸ˜‰

    Reply
  1. One Year Blogiversary! And My First Ever Giveaway! « greensandcoffeebeans

Leave a Reply

