Homecoming!

So I’m a little (actually a lot) behind and never got around to sharing my weekend with you guys, which is a shame because it was a fun one. Now that it’s almost a week later, it seemed like a good time to do it. Yeah, I’m a little bit of a slacker.

Friday I had class from 9 to 12:30, yep that’s a 3.5 hour class, on a Friday. Luckily it’s a pretty class so I don’t mind too much. And I got to print business cards on a super fancy and expensive printer. Fo free. The perks of taking a digital printing class.

Front:

 

 

 

Back:

I actually feel semi-legit now!

After class I headed to a 45-minute spin class, always awesome, and lifted a few weights afterwards. Gotta get those muscles!

Later on, a couple of friends and I took a trip on the Blue Ridge Parkway to see all of the beautiful fall leaves before they decide to shrivel up a die, which is what they tend to do when I go home for fall break. Here’s a couple pictures from our trip:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I really love being in the mountains sometimes. At least until it snows.

Our rumbling tummies lead us back into town for dinner. We wound up at a favorite, Black Cat Burrito. They seriously make some of the best burritos ever. If I wasn’t living on a college budget I would probably consider eating there every night. Not even kidding.

 

I got the “Thai Me Up” burrito with tofu, spinach, curry sauce, rice and sunflower seeds, minus the tortilla, plus some sriracha. Gotta love any place that can put curry sauce in a burrito and still make it work. Actually that’s a lie, I’m pretty sure curry sauce just makes everything taste better.

After dinner we checked out some of the First Friday activities going on in downtown Boone. It was fun to walk around and check out some of the shops, while enjoying free snacks:

 

Free chocolate covered peanut clusters! Yeayuh. Oh and free wine! Yes, free booze in a college town, three guesses why students love First Fridays. I got a glass of Charles Shaw at an art store, it was pretty tasty, but I don’t remember what it was, except that it was red.

And I caught a glimpse of some of the homecoming fireworks while walking back to my car.

Saturday morning, my roommate and I headed out to farmer’s market. I have no idea what I’m going to do with my Saturdays once the farmer’s market closes. It makes me sad to think about, fresh produce makes life better.

After the farmer’s market we got a bunch of friends together for a chili lunch before heading out to the homecoming game. I didn’t think to get any pictures of the chili, but it was delicious. Chili is the best cold weather meal in my opinion, I’m sure you’ll see me eating it all winter, especially now that I have a handy dandy crock-pot!

At the game:

 

The lawn is a million times better than sitting in the student section, I wish I had discovered this like freshman year. I only made it to half-time before calling it quits, I’m not so into football. But we ended up winning!

And the night ended with wine, apple pie, and What A Girl Wants. No Shame.

Three Buck Chuck and pink fuzzy socks. Such a good combo.

 

And an apple crumble for people whose tummies don’t like gluten. I made it up as I went along but it still came out really well (I can post the recipe if anyone wants it!) and the best part was I didn’t have to share 🙂

 

Do you like football? I think it’s kinda boring, but I’ll cheer on Appalachian!

What’s your favorite kind of pie? PUMPKIN.

 

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Love ALABAMA football 🙂

    Reply
  1. One Year Blogiversary! And My First Ever Giveaway! « greensandcoffeebeans

Leave a Reply

