I’m a Human Popsicle {WIAW}

TGIWednesday! Fall break officially starts todayyy! I’m a little excited to say the least!

Of course Tuesday I spend 12 hours on campus. Why does that always happen to me? Despite a busy day, I still got in some pretty good meals. And I actually took a picture of everything! Score one for Lea!

6:30 am

Peanut butter oatmeal! Rolled oats, almond milk, peanut butter (of course!), flax meal and cinnamon. With a side of big toe. A warm breakfast was definitely necessary, it was 62 degrees in my apartment when I woke up. Not okay. So I snuck the heat on. Shhh. I was a popsicle all day yesterday. Literally. Have I mentioned that I hate the cold? A lot?

8:30 am

Two eggs to get some protein in my belly before class. I scarfed them down just in time to catch the bus to campus, which had like 60 people crammed on it. Oh the Appalcart… (Appal because I go to Appalachian, they’re so clever.)

And some unsweetened Baker’s chocolate. I can’t help myself. Chocolate before noon is totally acceptable.

11:20 am

Golden Delicious apple from the farmer’s market! There’s a vendor with THE BEST apple ever. And you can fill up a bag for $4, I don’t know what I’m going to do with myself when the farmer’s market closes at the end of the month. Grocery store apples just don’t compare.

And tofu cubes cooked in coconut oil! I love the tofu/coconut combo, it makes plain tofu extra tasty. And the tofu looks a little funky because I froze it then thawed it before cooking, it gives an interesting spongy texture which was a nice change from the typical texture of tofu.

2:00pm

I liked this bar so much last week that I went back and bought more. Plus they were still on sale, my college grocery budget loves it.

Remember when I said I took a picture of everything I ate yesterday? I lied. I also had a microwaved sweet potato with cinnamon and coconut oil, soooo good. So good, that I was too busy stuffing my face to take a picture of it. I’m not really sorry about it.

4:00pm

COFFEEEEEE! Much needed, I was frozen at this point because the weather man lied and said the high would be 66 so I didn’t wear a jacket, but it was actually only 55. Lies. I was a human popsicle all. I should know better, Boone weather is ridiculous.

5:00pm

I should start off by saying I ate like 3 dinners yesterday. Not even kidding.

Dinner #1 was a salad with Romaine lettuce, farmer’s market heirloom tomato (so much better than normal tomatoes, and much prettier!), and avocado topped with a splash of apple cider vinegar and black pepper.

6:00pm

So I planned really poorly and that salad was way too teeny to keep me full. So I picked up the beans and rice special from the student union. The whole plate was only $3.00, pretty much the only good deal on campus! I got black beans, brown rice (most of which I didn’t eat, not such a fan of rice), lettuce, salsa, shredded carrots and olives. I pretty much lived off the meal last year, and I miss it a little bit!

I stayed on campus for a Power Yoga class and it was an amazing class! I have to gush about it for a second.

I used to go to this class all the time last year but stopped going this year because my Tuesdays are already really long and the class doesn’t end until 9:00pm, but it was so good to go back to it! I love the teachers (one of them actually led my Pilates training last semester, she’s awesome!). It felt so good to take a yoga class again and it was just what I needed. I felt so at peace with myself for the whole class, which was something I haven’t been feeling lately, and I don’t know, everything just clicked. I need to get my booty to yoga more often!

9:30pm

Time for dinner #3!

Spaghetti squash with marinara sauce, zucchini, nutritional yeast and sriracha! Sriracha is making a comeback in my life, it tastes good on everything. Everything.

10:00pm

Protein pudding? I don’t really know what to call this but it’s protein powder + almond milk + peanut butter + cinnamon and makes one tasty late night snack. Hit the spot.

Healthy Halloween Snacks

I picked up one of these guys on the way out of town today to fuel my 3 hour drive home. I really love halloween-themed things, so the festive package and name made this Z bar taste extra good (:

I need to cook up some healthy halloween snacks but I haven’t had the time/ingredients. Maybe while I’m home for fall break?

Do you use public transportation? Any fun stories? My roommate was on the bus once and the guy next to her puked. Good times.

Have you ever been pumpkin picking? I’m trying to convince my boyfriend to go pumpkin picking with me tomorrow. Things are looking in my favor (:

Next Post
Leave a comment

7 Comments

  1. Loving your dessert combination. Looks amazing!! I bet dipping an apple in it would be delicious.

    Reply
    • greensandcoffeebeans

       /  October 14, 2012

      Ah that’s an awesome idea! I can’t believe I hadn’t thought of that!

      Reply
  2. I’ve never used our college’s transportation system. i just walk everywhere. This winter though I’ll probably use it all the time. I hate being cold too!

    I’ve never been pumpkin picking either. Man I missed out on a lot in my childhood 🙂 No apple picking, blueberry picking, mushroom hunting…

    That spaghetti squash combo looks awesome. May have to try that!

    Reply
    • greensandcoffeebeans

       /  October 14, 2012

      I walked a lot more when I lived on campus, now that I’m off campus I take the bus to try to save gas. I’ll definitely be riding it a lot this winter because I hate driving in the snow!

      Reply
  3. Thank God I have a car 🙂 I took the train to work once and it was brutal.

    Reply
    • greensandcoffeebeans

       /  October 14, 2012

      I take my car to campus some days, but I’m trying to be good and waste gas, though when I see a huge group of people at the bus stop I definitely hop in my car!

      Reply
  1. Yoga Challenge Week 2 Recap « greensandcoffeebeans

Leave a Reply

