Foodie Pen Pals and a Weekend at Home

It’s October 1st! Holy cow, when did that happen? I’m pretty sure September just started two days ago, I guess the calendar didn’t get the memo.

October 1st means it’s time for the September Foodie Pen Pal reveal!

My (amazing!) package this month came from Amanda!

 

So. Many. Bars.

I know whole foods are better for you, but I have an unnatural love for snack bars. I would eat them for all three meals if I could get away with it. Needless to say, I was very excited when I opened my package! And it had all my favorites: KIND, Larabar (the apple pie one made great 5K fuel!) and Pure, and some new ones I haven’t tried like Raw Revolution and Earnest Eats. Which is a shame because they were both incredibly delicious!

The fruit leather was great too, I used to eat them all the time as a kid and they brought me right back to my childhood!

She also left included a sweet note. I thought it was so nice she thought about me being a student! The snacks were perfect for a pick-me-up in between classes and really saved my butt on days I was running late and didn’t have time to pack a bigger snack.

Thanks Amanda! And a big thanks to Lindsay for organizing the whole thing!

If you want to see what I sent my Foodie Pen Pal, go checkout Elizabeth’s post over at The Young Retiree!

Scenes from the Weekend:

This Saturday was my Dad’s birthday so I headed home for some quality family time and birthday celebration.

Friday night my boyfriend and I grabbed dinner at Qdoba. I got a naked burrito with black beans, rice, pico, lettuce and a freaking half cup of guacamole. I think this should be the new precedent for guacamole serving sizes. Thank you Qdoba.

My cat Sam is looking extra handsome with that scarf.

“Lea get this crap off me!”

 

Saturday afternoon we had a tasty birthday lunch at Yuri‘s. I ordered the Vegetable Maki roll, avocado, cucumber and pickled vegetables. Yummy. It’s been too long since I’ve had sushi.

 

Saturday night my parents went out to a concert for my dad’s birthday so I was on my own for dinner. I scrounged together to ingredients for a veggie omelet. I’m pretty horrible at making omelets. My pan was too small and I had a flipping fail. Whoops.

I rocked out an at-home workout too. At-home workouts are usually not my favorite because I have zero motivation and the couch is much more appealing, but I actually got a good one in this time. I completed¬†ZWOW #33, I’ve never done a ZWOW workout before, but I loved how quick, yet intense it was and that I could do it all in my living room with no equipment, I’m definitely a fan. I finished that up with the first three rounds of Julie‘s 10 to 6 workout. Julie has the best circuit workouts, I always check her blog when I need a good at-home workout!

I followed my workouts up with Big Boss Brewery‘s Harvest Time Pumpkin Ale. It was very fall-ish and incredibly tasty. I also love that Big Boss is local to Raleigh! Bonus. I’m loving being 21 this fall, pumpkin beer is so good!

 

What’s your favorite thing about fall?

Do you like sushi? I love sushi, but I feel like vegetarian sushi isn’t that adventurous of a food (:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

