CrossFit Boone

I’m officially addicted to CrossFit. This may become a somewhat expensive, and mildly painful addiction but I’m okay with that.

I decided to try out a class at CrossFit Boone this weekend and signed up for the Saturday morning session. I didn’t know what to expect going into it, because it was only my second CrossFit experience and because things in Boone are typically much smaller than things back home, so I wasn’t how the box would compare to my first experience, but I was very pleasantly surprised.

Things I love upon entering the box: one, it was part of the local health care system so the facility was super nice. Two, every person I ran into was super friendly and inviting, everyone made a point to learn my name (unrelated but, I just dropped a full mug of green tea on my laptop, I’m currently thanking everything that’s holy for waterproof keyboard covers or my poor little macbook would be toast!) and made sure I enjoyed my workout. Three, they offer a student discount for classes, for $10 I got an amazing workout. You can’t even take a yoga class for that price. Bonus points for being college budget friendly!

The workout started with a quick warm-up that included stretches, lunges/squats, sprints and plyo exercises to get us prepared for the WOD, and I definitely needed to prepare for the WOD. The WOD was a hero WOD and it was no joke:

WOD – Wood

Five rounds:

  • 400m run
  • 10 Burpee Box Jumps (24/20)
  • 10 Sumo Deadlift High Pulls (95/65)
  • 10 Thrusters (95/65)
  • 1 minute rest

I was a little worried going into the workout when I saw we were doing a hero WOD. I know the hero WODs are pretty intense, but I love that they were created honor fallen soldiers, so I really wanted to put my best into the workout. The coach told me if I could cut the WOD down to 3 rounds if I wanted, but I was secretly determined to do all 5 rounds. I came for intense workout and I was going to push myself.

And intense workout it was. I huffed and puffed my way through the workout but I finished (not last either!) and I felt proud of what I accomplished. I used a step with 4 risers for the box jumps, so I think it was around 12 to 14 inches? I probably could have gone higher but I wanted to be safe and I wasn’t sure how I’d be feeling in the last couple rounds. I also used 35 lbs for high pulls and thrusters. I initially thought this weight was going to be too light, but by the end of the workout I was definitely struggling with the thrusters.

I finished in 35:35I was super happy with my time, it might not have been fast, but I finished strong and didn’t give up, which was my goal going into the workout.

A little sweaty?

I loved my workout with CrossFit Boone, it was an amazing way to start my Saturday and I loved every minute of it, even though I could barely move this morning. I’ll definitely be back as soon as my next paycheck comes in 🙂

Have you tried CrossFit before? What did you think?

Are you clumsy? Make me feel better and say yes, then I won’t feel so lame for dropping a whole mug of tea on my laptop.

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Don’t hate but I think crossfit is a fad. Just my opinion 🙂

    Reply
  1. greensandcoffeebeans
  2. One Year Blogiversary! And My First Ever Giveaway! « greensandcoffeebeans

Leave a Reply

