Busy Bee {WIAW}

Whew yesterday was longgg. I didn’t get back to my apartment until 9:00 last night, so I had to get a little creative on the food front.

Pictures are pretty awesome today, just warning you now. Poor campus lighting and camera phones are not a good combo.

Breakfast:

What’s up peanut butter oatmeal. You can do no wrong. I started adding cottage cheese into my oatmeal for an extra protein boost in the morning. It sounds a little weird but it makes for a very creamy and salty combination. Love it.

Yellow bowls make me extra happy, anyone else?

Breakfast part 2:

Two eggs to get me through the morning. Recycled picture because I was running a little late. Oopsies, but I still made it to class with 2 minutes to spare. Three cheers for power walking.

Lunch:

A golden delicious apples. Golden delicious apples are my favorite, other apple just don’t compare. The Harris Teeter near me sells 3 pound bags for $4 and I’m going through a bag a week! Hey, an apple a day keeps the doctor away, or it at least keeps my tummy happy.

Massaged kale salad with olive oil, apple cider vinegar and mushrooms, with some baked tofu sticks on the side. There was supposed to be avocado on this salad but I totally forgot to add it before leaving for class in the morning. It would have been way better with avocado, but then again isn’t everything?

Afternoon Snack:

Edamame! I think people get confused when they see me eat this because no one seems to know what it is. They don’t know what they’re missing out on. I walked a couple of laps around the Graphic Arts hallway while eating this, I was four hours into SIX hours of computer classes and my but was starting to fall asleep. It kills me a little.

And carrot sticks with hummus in the coffee shop after class. I had some time to kill before heading to dance auditions at 7 so I set up in the coffee shop to attempt to get some work done. I’d be lying if I said I spent more time working on homework than reading blogs, but hey, at least I got some work done.

Dinner:

Okay my dinner was really sad, but it’s the best I could do with being on campus for 12 hours.

Banana, and

Raw Revolution Spirulina Dream bar. This was my first time trying this bar and I really like it. It’s not very sweet and a little earthy tasting, but I’m a little weird and actually enjoyed that. I think bars are usually way too sweet so this was a nice change. It wasn’t an ideal dinner but it was full of healthy fats (thanks to the cashews) and had a decent amount of protein. And it was green!

See! One of my notebooks now has green fingerprints all over it but I’m totally okay with that. This bar was actually perfect fuel for dance auditions, it left me satisfied but I didn’t feel heavy or weighed down.

Late Snack:

Cottage cheese with peanut butter, flax meal and cinnamon after getting home from auditions. I’m on a cottage cheese roll right now, it’s so good and has so much protein in it. I think I could eat it all day long.

I also had an un-pictured plum and carrot dipped in peanut butter because it was late and I forgot. Oh well.

What’s your favorite (meat-free) protein source?

How do you survive long days? Lots of coffee =)

Leave a comment

9 Comments

  1. Oh no your dinner is sad :(. Hope you were able to have a yummier one today 🙂

    Reply
  2. Aww…you’re little dinner 😦

    Reply
  3. Emily

     /  August 30, 2012

    Your lunch looks delicious! Of course, I love anything that has kale involved. And I’m glad you liked the Raw Revolution bar! I’ve never tried that flavor but I’ve had most of the other ones. They’re all really yummy (:

    Reply
  4. PB oatmeal is a staple for me!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

