First Day of School {WIAW}

This month’s What I Ate Wednesday theme might be Summer Staples, but summer time is over for this girl. Back to college for Lea.

Yesterday was the first day of my senior year of college! It blows my mind that this is my final year of college. I have to start figuring out what I’m going to do with my life and be responsible or something. That one needs some work.

My morning started with a NEW breakfast. I know, crazy talk.

Overnight oats with plain greek yogurt, unsweetened vanilla almond milk, peanut butter and cinnamon. This new breakfast was created out of necessity because the microwave in my apartment is broken (boo) and I’m too lazy to make stovetop oats before class. Overnight oats it is! I miss warm oats but this definitely works in a pinch. Our microwave mysteriously disappeared while I was in class today so I’m hoping to come home to a new one tomorrow. Fingers crossed!

My morning cup of coffee. So necessary. I bought this mug at World Market, it came in a set of six and they are my new favorite things. I think they’re cute, they’re small and teacup-like and they make me a feel a little fancy. Yes, I do get way too excited about coffee mugs.

I went to an 8 AM yoga class to get my blood flowing before my 9:30 class. Definitely the perfect way to start the morning, headstands before 9 AM are always a good choice. I had an apple post-yoga on the way to class. Walking and eating, welcome to college. Food on the go is necessary.

 

Lunch was eaten in the hallway while waiting for my 12:00 class. My schedule is a little crazy this semester so I basically try to shove food in whenever I can. Like 6 straight hours of class with 10-minute breaks crazy. I seem to always forget about lunch when registering for class. Lunch is pretty unimportant when trying to graduate in 4 years.

Kidding, I love lunch. Lunch today was tempeh with zucchini and collard greens, which I definitely forgot to take a picture until I finished, whoops. I also had a black bean patty that was leftover from my friend’s potluck dinner on Monday night.

Totally a normal snack to be eating in an academic building. People might have stared. Whatever.

I had a Cherry Cobbler Uber bar in between my last two class (during some blog reading!). I was in a major lack-of-caffiene slump (I might have a problem) and needed a pick me up. I love the new Uber bars, I’m a big fan of all the extra nuts in these bars, I think it makes them much more filling than the regular larabars.

I inhaled this banana and peanut butter I as soon as I walked into the door of my apartment. Six hours of class makes me hungry! So hungry that I didn’t notice a piece of banana fell on my hand, awesome.

I had dinner a couple of hours later after lazing around for a few hours. I’m savoring my downtime as much possible because I know it won’t last long this semester.

Summer squash, onions and collard greens with two fried eggs on the side. The eggs were a little bit of fiasco since I’m still getting used to the oven in my apartment, they were completely brown on one side and a step away from raw on the other. Yeah, I’m working on it.

I had a snack of cottage cheese, peanut butter and cinnamon after practicing some Pilates (I taught my first class today!). It sounds like a weird combo but I promise it’s delicious. This snack has a ton of protein too, which is an added bonus.

My eats are going to be pretty interesting this year. I no longer have a meal plan now that I’m off campus and I’m trying my best to avoid campus food altogether because it’s pretty expensive. I’m trying to cook and pack my own meals but it’s a pretty difficult task considering I’m usually eating on the go and have no microwave access during the day. I’m trying to figure out some easy, packable meals I can make throughout the week the are both quick and cheap, which will be quite the adventure. Any advice is definitely welcome!

What are your favorite portable meals? I need some ideas!

If you’re in school, what classes are you taking? I’m weirdly interested in the classes other people are taking, some of them sound really awesome! This semester I’m taking Flexography (basically package design), web development (aka the blog will be pretty soon!), 3D animation, digital printing methods, entrepreneurship and somatics (mind-body connection class, should be fun!).

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. I love PB stirred into anything, including cottage cheese and greek yogurt. mhm!

    Reply
  2. I took a salad from home today to the library at school in some Tupperware and got all kinds of strange looks. Haha! Clean eating on a college campus is clearly unheard of for most people! Your eats look great! 🙂

    Reply
  1. One Year Blogiversary! And My First Ever Giveaway! « greensandcoffeebeans

Leave a Reply

