“Have You Heard That We’re A Cult? Because We’re Not!”

Saturday I attended my first ever CrossFit class.

Can I just say after only one class I’m absolutely obsessed? I see why people get so into it, I absolutely love it!

The class was courtesy of CrossFit Zeal. My internship is literally right next door to them, and after walking past them almost everyday for two months I finally checked out their website and saw they have a free community class every Saturday. Free CrossFit? Count me in!

Full disclosure: I was super nervous to try out CrossFit. From reading several blogs (especially Tina‘s she’s a CrossFit beast!) that the workouts are super scalable to any fitness level, but stepping into a box full of still rings, ropes hanging from the ceiling and piles of Olympic bars is a little nerve wracking. But I was there to learn and try something new, so I dove in head first.

The class began with a quick overview of CrossFit’s principals and some quick foam rolling and stretching to warm up our muscles before getting down to business. The WOD was a Half-Kelly, which is 5 rounds of:

  • 15 Wall Balls
  • 15 Box Jumps
  • 200m Run

(The full version of Kelly is 30 wall balls, 30 box jumps and a 400m run) In preparation of Kelly we learned proper squat form, which is way different from the squats I’m used to doing. I found it interesting that even though your hips break parallel in CrossFit squats (which I’ve learned to NEVER do) my knees feel much better doing CrossFit squats than regular squats (maybe because I can turn me knees and feet out?). We also went over proper form for wall balls and box jumps.

The coach (the title quote is courtesy of him) was incredibly helpful and encouraging as we went over these exercises. He gave us lots of great form tips and encouragement and I was really excited to start the WOD.

The WOD was really fun. I used a 6 lb. medicine ball for the wall balls. I’m not so good at wall balls. I probably could have gone for more weight, but my hand-eye coordination is pretty terrible and I had a hard time hitting the wall. The coach even had me hit myself in the face with the ball so I wouldn’t be afraid of it.  I used a 17″ box for the box jumps. I tried the box jumps on a 20″ box and they were doable, but scary, and not for 15 reps. We were also given a time cap of 12 minutes (or 5 rounds if you finished that first) and I finished 4 rounds before time was up.

I was completely drenched in sweat by the end of the workout, but I loved every single second of it. The workout was tough, but I powered through without stopping and it was so rewarding.

I can’t wait to go back this saturday! And I’m already looking for boxes in Boone for when school starts, officially obsessed.

Have you tried CrossFit before? What did you think?

Leave a comment

8 Comments

  1. Way to go! I’m REALLY wanting to give crossfit a try, thanks for your insight!

    Reply
  2. I have been wanting to try Cross Fit, but havent yet. Looks like you had a great workout!

    Reply
  1. Hungry Beast {WIAW} « greensandcoffeebeans
  2. Things I Did This Weekend. « greensandcoffeebeans
  3. CrossFit Boone « greensandcoffeebeans
  4. One Year Blogiversary! And My First Ever Giveaway! « greensandcoffeebeans

Leave a Reply

