FYI Friday: Sleep is Good

I wanted to start a series called FYI Friday. Basically a post about different healthy living (or really anything else topics). I’m a pretty nerdy person and like getting my learning on, and I thought you guys my find it interesting as well.

What do you think? If there are any topics you’d like to see, I’m very open to suggestions.

So let’s get things started!

This week I want to talk about sleep.

I’m the most terrible sleeper ever. I honestly hate sleeping. You know how it’s impossible to get a little kid to go to bed? Yeah, I never grew out of that phase. Most of my friends (aka typical college students) sleep until noon. Me? Notsomuch.I currently average 5-6.5 hours a night. I know. it’s horrible. I’m both a night owl and early bird – not a good combo.

Always

So in order to motivate me to go to bed earlier, let’s talk about all the reasons sleep is important:

  • It improves you memory – sleeping helps information sink into the brain. You are much more likely to remember information not only short term, but long term as well, after a a full nights sleep. Studies have also shown that students perform significantly better on tests when they have had an adequate amount of sleep. Oh, you mean staying up all night studying was a bad idea?
  • It helps protect against disease – Not getting enough sleep can compromise your immune system and cause an increase in inflammation. Research shows people who get fewer than 6 hours of sleep a night have higher levels of inflammatory proteins in their blood stream. Also many cardiovascular problems have been linked to sleep problems
  • It can help keep you safe – a lack of sleep can impair your judgement and motor skills, increase your reaction time and crush your concentration. In fact sleepiness causes many car accidents every year.
  • It improves your mood – we all know we can be cranky little beasts when we’re tired – sleep fixes that! Sleep has even been shown to aid with depression.
  • It reduces stress – sufficient sleep can lower anxiety and decrease the level of stress hormones in the body.
  • It could help you lose weight – sleep and metabolism are controlled by the same parts of the brain, so when you are sleepy certain levels of hormones increase, which rev your appetite. Stress hormones such as cortisol are also released when you are sleepy, which causes the body to store excess fat. Sleep might even help you trim down for bikini season!

(source, source)

Sleep is awesome. I should really try getting more. It’s a work in progress for me, but I have been trying to get at least 7 hours a night. It doesn’t always happen but hey, I’m trying!

How much sleep do you usually get?

Are there any topics you’d like to see and FYI Friday post about?

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

