Hey August {WIAW}

I can’t believe it’s already August! Where did July go? Only two more weeks of summer and I’ll be back at school.  Speaking of summer:


This month’s What I Ate Wednesday is celebrating summer staples. I’ve definitely been taking advantage of the season, summer foods are my favorite, everything is so light and fresh!

I even tried to break out the DSLR so I wouldn’t torture you guys with more fuzzy cell phone pictures. You’re welcome.

See sometimes I can take decent food pictures.

Breakfast: Three guesses what breakfast was. Peanut butter oats again. I love it and it’s not going anywhere. I also had a banana before heading to work. I’ve been a banana fiend lately. I ate three today, I’m not upset about it either.

Morning Snack: Un-pictured edamame eaten at my desk at work. Today was torture because I was making changes to menu for a local restaurant that serves some really delicious sounding food (crepes, gelato, waffles, chocolate-dipped waffles topped with gelato! – pure carb heaven), I was drooling the whole time. My edamame didn’t make me feel any less hungry (though it was healthy than gelato, I guess).

Lunch: Tofu sauteed with kale, green bell pepper, onion and eggplant doused in Trader Joe’s Red Thai Curry Sauce.  The curry sauce is absolutely delicious, I want to put it on everything, I don’t care how bad it’ll make me smell. I had another banana on the side because I can’t help myself.

Afternoon Snack: Cherries! A summer favorite, it’s the only time they’re close to affordable. A black bean patty (recipe coming this week I promise!). Also an un-pictured roasted potato. My mom made them for lunch and she had leftovers and I had to grab a a few pieces out of the pan whenever I passed through the kitchen. And then some how it was all gone. Whoops.

Dinner: Vanilla Peanut Butter Banana Smoothie! Soy milk, 1/2 banana, 1.5 scoops vanilla whey protein powder, 2 tsp peanut butter and 1 cup frozen spinach. It was way too hot to turn on the oven again. Smoothie it is. It made good pre-workout and dance class fuel.

Late Snack: I picked up a sprite melon at Kroger because it was only $1 and I was intrigued. The sticker said it tasted like “Watermelon blended with Honeydew and a hint of Pear”. I didn’t think it tasted like anything. Maybe it wasn’t ripe? Oh well. It was fun to try. I also had some un-pictured cottage cheese with peanut butter (un-pictured because there is no way to make that look appetizing) and the other half of the banana from my smoothie earlier with more peanut butter.

Summer is one of the best seasons for food in my opinion. I absolutely love summer produce. There is nothing like it. I die a little bit in the winter when I can get my hands on any deliciously fresh berries. I could literally live at the summer farmer’s market. I might just bring a pillow and blanket next time I go.

I’ll take them all please.


As great as summer is for fresh produce. Summer weather puts a little bit of a damper on my exercise routine. Running in the 95+ degree NC heat makes me feel like death. Since I want running to be fun and not feel like torture, I’ve taken a bit of a break from it during the summer. Moving my workouts into a climate-controlled gym has been key in keeping fit in the scorching heat. Weightlifting, group classes and the treadmill have been my summer exercise staples. My workouts this week include:

Thursday: 30 minute cardio class, and a 30 minute strength training class
Friday: Modified LiveFit workout – arms, back and abs
Saturday: Putting siding on the Habitat house! And trying not to get heat exhaustion
Sunday: Cycling and a Yoga class with a 15 minute savasana that I might have fallen asleep during. Whoops.
Monday: 6 AM Interval Training class, a tough but rewarding class
Tuesday: 20/20/20 class (20 minutes each of cardio, weights, and ab work) and dance class

Lots of fun indoor workouts. Lately the weather has started to cool down slightly (it’s sad when a high of 89 is cool) and I want to try to get an outdoor run in, it’s been far too long!

How do you beat the summer heat?

What’s your favorite part of summer? 

 

 

Leave a comment

9 Comments

  1. There’s nothing better than savasana on a Sunday. But that melon sounds intriguing – I wish it tasted like it said. I can’t seem to get enough melon this summer!

    Reply
  2. I have seriously been loving cherries and peaches lately! I think I eat both just about every single day!

    Reply
  3. Your smoothie sounds delicious girl! Hope you had a wonderful Wednesday 🙂

    Reply
  4. you are one fitness machine girlie – awesome workouts.
    You have me craving PB oats – I always forget about them in the summer months.

    Reply
  5. Mama mia!!! That a whole lotta delish strawberries! Drrooool…:) And not to brag or anything! But socal has been treating us very well in terms of the weather…hehe. *knock on wood*

    Reply

Leave a Reply

