Triathlons and Veggie Mountain.

Nothing like kicking off the weekend with a 5:30am wake up call on Saturday morning.

Actually I won’t lie, I like getting up early, it’s the going to bed early part I don’t do so well with. But it was for a good cause, so I can’t complain.

I was volunteering at a triathlon! The Triangle Triathlon to be specific. The YMCA’s We Build People charity was donated $10 for every hour of volunteer time at the race so I thought volunteering would be a fun way to support a good cause, and get in on some race action. It’s been over a month since I’ve run a race (I’m going through withdrawals!) so I got as close to one as possible.

I got to help pass out water along the running leg of the race. Passing out water is much harder than it looks. I didn’t want to slow anyone down!

I totally have triathlon fever now. It’s officially on the bucket list. We’ll skip the minor detail of me not knowing how to swim. I’ll work on that one. We’ll also skip the fact I’ve been on a bike approximately 3 times in the past 10 years. It’s a work in progress. It will happen though.

One of the women volunteering with me was telling me about the Ramblin’ Rose Triathlon and it’s sounds like it would be a great challenge to work for. I’ve officially got the race bug.

I brought along one of my Healthy Surprise snacks for some midmorning sustenance.

Vanilla Maple Almonds from Hail Merry. Sooo freaking good. I loved that they weren’t overly sugary like most flavored nuts are and were made with wholesome ingredients. The packaging was also really well designed, because I’m nerdy and into stuff like that.

After I finished up at the triathlon I head straight to the gym, nothing like watching triathletes run for 2.5 hours for a little motivation right? Plus thanks to that good old NC humidity, I was already nice and sweaty. Lovely.

Post-gym lunch was a mountain of vegetables.

Literally.

I stir-fried a ton of veggies and then opened the cabinet only to realize all of our bigger bowls were dirty, so I ended up with a mini-veggie mountain. I wasn’t upset about it. That’s a mountain I don’t mind climbing.

After dinner I went for a short bike ride around the neighborhood (I told you I’ve got the racing bug!). I’m a little rusty on the bike, and terrified of all traffic, but riding is a lot of fun.

When I got back from my ride I was greeted with this beautiful treasure:

That is a peanut butter machine.

A machine that makes peanut butter.

I. Am. In. Heaven.

How has my family owned one of these for all these years without me knowing?! It’s from 1975, I’ve been missing out on a lot of peanut butter making in my life.

We’re going to have a peanut butter monster on our hands pretty soon.

My grandmother was apparently the queen of kitchen gadgets. She passed away back in 2001 and since my dad was the only living family member everything she owned was passed along to us. Most of her things are up in the attic of our garage and which we’ve been working on sorting through and cleaning out. Sorting through her stuff has put me in cooking heaven. So far I’ve found an ice cream maker, a dehydrator, a cast iron skillet and the peanut butter machine. Rumor has it there’s also Vitamix hiding up there somewhere, which I can keep if I can find it (I WILL find it).  So many fun hidden treasures.

I haven’t tested out the peanut butter machine yet (I don’t have any nuts, kind of a crucial ingredients) but I will soon! I know you can make nut butter in the food processor, but a peanut butter machine is so much more fun.

How was your weekend?

Have you ever made your own nut butter?

Leave a comment

7 Comments

  1. Homemade nut butter is the best! I need to make it more!

    Reply
  2. Oh my gosh, I am your grandmother. Not really… but I LOVE kitchen gadgets. I never knew that a peanut butter machine existed, but now that I do I must find one! I’m in shock, that’s so amazing.

    Reply
    • I don’t even know if they still sell them, I was reading the instruction booklet that came with it and saw that it’s from 1975! I’m sure there’s still something like it though.

      Reply
      • I’ll be sure to check out antique stores and ebay. That machine is so awesome!

  1. Hungry Beast {WIAW} « greensandcoffeebeans
  2. One Year Blogiversary! And My First Ever Giveaway! « greensandcoffeebeans

Leave a Reply

