Limits

Saturday’s Pilobolus performance was amazing.

I saw them perform last year, so I already knew how fantastic they were, but the company never ceases to amaze me. They performed four pieces, both new and old: Walklyndon, PseudopodiaTransformation and All Is Not Lost (I think you can find most of these on youtube if you’re interested). I actually went to a special children’s matinee performance (tickets were muucccchhhh cheaper) so the performance was shorter and the pieces performed were more mainstream and kid-friendly, but I still enjoyed it. The strength and technique of those dancers never ceases to amaze me.

One of the benefits of going to the children’s performance (besides the free snacks afterwards!) was that there was a brief introduction to every dance given by one of the company’s artistic director. Listening to the artistic director discuss each dance, even on an elementary level, was incredibly interesting. It’s nice to get an inside perspective on each dance and listen to different interpretations of the movement.

The artistic director talked about Limits as a theme that exists throughout all of Pilobolus’s dances. We generally consider limits to be horrible things that restrict our creativity, when in reality, limits force us to be more creative and approach things in a new light.

That message really stuck with me. Embracing the limits life places on you and thriving despite it. It’s something I want to try to keep in mind whenever I’m feeling stuck or bogged down in life, that our greatest moments can come when we have the fewest resources to create them.

Just getting a little philosophical on you guys.

What the last message/phrase/quote that really stuck with you? Because I love a little extra inspiration in my life.

Have you ever attended a dance performance?

Previous Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Thrifty Finds and a Healthy Surprise. « greensandcoffeebeans

Leave a Reply

