It Beets Me

I got my 4th of July frozen yogurt! Mission accomplished.

Vegan raspberry fro yo with lots of fruit and a nugget of Reese’s hiding in the corner. I couldn’t resist. I won’t talk about how this was lunch. The fruit makes it healthy.

My mom and I headed out to downtown Apex for their Old Fashioned Fourth of July, but it ended up being a bust because all the activities were for kids At least I tried?

We consoled ourselves with fro yo, a Trader Joe’s trip for watermelon, peanut butter and pizza supplies and then headed out to JoAnn’s for some serious craft shopping. I bought some fabric, and canvases for some projects I’ve had in mind. Pictures to come when I finish.

Dinner was pizza (kinda)!

Portobello caps with pizza sauce, onions, bell pepper, basil, mozzarella and nooch. I miss Trader Joe’s pizza crust, but not the tummy ache after. At least portobellos are a nice compromise.

I skipped out on the fireworks because it was 100 degrees. No thank you. I’ll watch my neighbor’s illegal fireworks from my living room window instead.

My lucky duck of a friend got to watch fireworks at Magic Kingdom.

Though she does work there, so I guess it’s an even trade off.

This morning I woke up wondering why my alarm was going off at 6:30 on a Sunday morning. Oh right, it’s not the weekend. Funny thing is I don’t work normally on Wednesdays anyway.

I stopped by my boyfriends when I got off work to see him for a couple of hours before he went to work (we have completely opposite schedules most of the time which is lame). And since there’s a Whole Foods on the way, I obviously had to stop.

I don’t even remember what all was in there, except there was a hard-boiled egg because I was too hungry to wait. It didn’t even make it to my car.

And because I’m a nice girlfriend I got a salad with both stinky blue cheese and onions. At least I left off the garlicky kale this time. I’m glad I’m at the point of my relationship where blue cheese breath is not an issue.

From there I headed to the gym for Day 38 of Livefit. While I was doing squats, the guy loaded up the chest press machine next to me with 410 pounds. Um, just over 3 times my bodyweight, no big deal.

Dinner was inspired by the slowly wilting produce I have in my fridge:

Tofu, onions and swiss chard, eggplant and beets all from the farmer’s market.

When you cook things with beets, everything turns red. Go figure. Luckily beets turn everything delicious too. I’m pretty certain my digestive track is a nice shade of beet red right now too. I can’t get enough of them right now.

Speaking of things I can’t get enough of, I’m newly obsessed with the show Breaking Pointe. I’m sure I’m the only person that watches it, but it’s a reality show that follows professional ballet dancers in a company in Salt Lake City.

I can’t get enough it’s dance-y dramatic goodness. I’m savoring it now because I’m sure it won’t get another season. Anyone else watch it?

What’s your favorite frozen yogurt flavor? I love tart-flavored, which is boring and old lady-ish but I don’t care. Peanut butter is always a winner too.

What’s your favorite reality tv show? Don’t lie, you know you have one.

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Yesss for fourth of july fro yo! I’m definitely a vanilla girl. Totally boring, I know. But I love it 🙂 Then I can put every single topping on it!

    Reply
  2. Am I the only one that doesn’t really like fro yo? Real ice cream for me please!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

