Spah-Geddie

With a last name like Geddie, it’s inevitable that you get the Lea Spaghetti nickname growing up. My mom used to substitute teach at an elementary school and she permanently became “Mrs. Spaghetti” to all of the students. Apparently, little kids really love their spaghetti.

Except me.

I was the only kid I knew growing up that didn’t like spaghetti (well pasta in general, well most food in general, I was a very picky kid). Though spaghetti started to grow on me during my freshman year of college, because I think it’s a requirement that all college student have a love of pasta, I’ve still never been much of a fan.

So I took spaghetti matters into my own hands. I bulked up the sauce with more veggies (because I can’t help myself), added some protein and replaced the noodles – with more vegetables.

So here’s my hippie-fied, Lea-approved version of spaghetti and meat sauce. Or Spah-Geddie as I like to call it.

Spah-Geddie (gluten-free and vegan)
Serves 1

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 of a small spaghetti squash
  • 1/4 block of tempeh*
  • 1/3 cup of chopped spinach (I used frozen)
  • 1/3 cup diced onion
  • 1/2 cup of your favorite marinara sauce (I used Trader Joe’s, he’s my favorite)
  • Nutritional yeast (optional)
  • Cayenne pepper (optional)

*Make sure you’re using gluten-free tempeh if that’s an issue for you, not all brands are

Directions:

  1. Cook the squash using which ever method you prefer, I like the microwave because, well, I like it for everything. I microwaved my squash on high for 8 minutes, but the time may vary.
  2. While the squash is cooking, grate the tempeh into a small sauce pan on medium heat.
  3. To the sauce pan add the diced onion and spinach and cook until the onions are translucent and the tempeh is beginning to brown.
  4. Add marinara sauce and stir to combine, continue cooking until sauce is heated throughout. I added some cayenne pepper at this point because I like things spicy! Totally optional though.
  5. Scoop the seeds out of the squash and scrape the flesh into a bowl
  6. Add the sauce to the spaghetti squash, top with nutritional yeast and enjoy!

My sauce to “noodle” ratio was a little, um, disproportionate, and there was way more sauce than “noodle”, but I liked it that way. You could easily scale up the noodles or scale down the sauce if you like things a more balanced

Not the most photogenic meal but it tastes much better than it looks, I promise!

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. I love spaghetti squash! Add tempeh to that and I love it even more 🙂

    Reply
  1. Happy Independence Day! (WIAW) « greensandcoffeebeans

Leave a Reply

