“The More You Drink, The Better We Sound”

It’s been a busy (and fun) past couple of days!

Wednesday night my parents and I went to a free concert at Waverly Place. Liquid Pleasure, a local band out of Chapel Hill was playing. The music was pegged as beach music, but actually they played most rock/soft-rock covers, neither of which is really my style of music, but they still sounded good.

Their motto throughout the night was “The more you drink, the better we sound”. I didn’t get to test that one out because I was not about to pay $4 for a tiny cup of wine. I spent my $4 at the Whole Foods salad bar instead. Much better choice.

It was really sunny and I didn’t think to bring sunglasses. Not a smart move on my part. I also thought that because it was only going to be 85 degrees (instead of 95+) jeans would be okay. Wrong. I was dying. At least I didn’t get sunburnt?

When my eyes started hurting I moved on to attempting to take artsy pictures of inanimate objects. Hey Red Solo Cup.

And when I needed a break from the heat I walked around Whole Foods for a little bit, they had some really beautiful flowers outside.

Thursday afternoon my mom and I went to the Farmer’s Market! I would just like to take a minute and thank Wake County for having a farmer’s market that is open 7 days a week. The perks of living in an agricultural state. It’s made me a little spoiled.

I left my camera in my dad’s car so I didn’t get to take any pictures, which was a shame because it wasn’t very crowded that day. But I’m sure my mom was glad to have an extra set of helpful hands instead of having to wait for me to take 10 pictures of a squash. She’s a good sport.

We left with a good haul of produce! Peaches, raspberries, sweet potatoes, collard greens, eggplant, zucchini, summer squash, corn, cantaloupe, watermelon and beets. All for $30. Have I mentioned I love the farmer’s market?

Thursday night my mom and I went hunting for my grandmother’s old Vitamix in our garage. There are rumors there’s one up there and I can have it if I can dig it out. I won’t rest until I find it! Except I did because it was 103 degrees outside. I’ll be back when it cools down! I did find a dehydrator though! I left it out there for the time being because it’s massive and I don’t know where to put it yet, and an ice cream maker. How did I not know that my grandmother had all these awesome kitchen appliances?

Friday my mom and I grabbed lunch at Sweet Tomatoes. I love Sweet Tomatoes because this happens:

Salad Heaven.

When a salad bar doesn’t charge by weight I have to take advantage. I feel really bad for whoever gets behind me and line because I have to stop at every vegetable. They give me plenty of evil stares too. Health-freak problems.

Both plates were demolished and soooo good. Also, please note my mom’s salad in the background, it looks measly in comparison.

This morning I headed to the gym (after 8.5 hours of glorious sleep, I’ve been averaging 6 lately and paying for it) and completed the LiveFit week 5 shoulders workout. I also ran 2 miles on the treadmill which felt AMAZING. I haven’t been running lately because it’s been so hot out (the treadmill kills me) and I’ve had a lot of pain in the top of my right foot and running seems to be aggravating it. My foots has start to feel better so I’m trying to ease back into running because I do miss it and I want to keep my endurance up. It felt pretty good today, but I’m sticking to indoor runs for a while so I can just hop off the treadmill if I have any issues.

For lunch I met my roommate, her boyfriend, and a school friend visiting Raleigh for lunch at Red Robin. I was really excited to see that Red Robin now has two meatless burger options (Morningstar and Boca – though a black bean option would have been yummier) AND gluten-free buns. It makes me excited to see these alternatives at big chain restaurants like Red Robin.

I ordered a Keep It Simple Burger:

Like this except with a Boca patty, lettuce wrap instead of a bun (gluten-free bread was an extra $1, so I went for the cheaper option), no pickles (GROSS)  and fruit instead of fries. Because I like to be complicated. Neither veggie burger option ended up being gluten-free, but I at least avoided the bun. Oh well.

For whatever reason my burger came out completely disassembled. I guess you were supposed to be able to build your own like the picture above? But that doesn’t really work with a lettuce as bun, and they didn’t give me lettuce pieces large enough to eat with the burger. I just cut everything up and ate it like a salad, so it was no big deal, just a little strange.

From there we headed to the mall to look around some. I ended up buying a tank top on clearance, but then realized my debit card was in the card. A good move for forced self-control, so I left with a happy wallet.

I’ve spent the rest of the night catching up on DVRed recordings of the Olympic gymnastics trials. I can’t wait until the Olympics start! Less than a month!

What’s the last concert you went to?

What’s your favorite Olympic sport? I can’t pick, but I love gymnastics (artistic and rhythmic), track and field and all the obscure sports like table tennis (the US trials took place right down the street from me!).

Next Post
Leave a comment

8 Comments

  1. Emily

     /  July 1, 2012

    I just came across your blog after seeing a comment you left over at For The Love of Kale. I absolutely love it! First of all, I’m beyond jealous that your Farmer’s Market is open 7 days a week. Mine is every Sunday and, as soon as I leave, I’m already counting down the minutes until the next one! And second, I’m the exact same way at Sweet Tomatoes (although in LA it’s called Soup Plantation- but, it’s owned by the same company!) I go absolutely crazy and I love it. (:

    Reply
  2. I love how you can get so many veggies & fruits at the farmers market for way less money than a grocery store 🙂 win win

    Reply
  3. I like watching gymnastic and swimming!

    Reply
  4. That’s the best motto haha. And I love Sweet Tomatoes! We call it Souplantation around here but it’s the exact thing. The salad bars are seriously the bomb.

    Reply
    • Their salad bars are! The people behind me line always give me a skeptical look like “there’s no way you can eat a salad that big!”, and I always do!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

