Ants on a Log (WIAW)

Where did the week go? I feel like it’s still Monday. But I’m not complaining because I am so ready for the weekend.

Breakfast: My typical bowl of peanut butter oatmeal. Creature of habit. In fact, I’m eating the same bowl right now. I don’t think I’ll ever get sick of it. I also had a microwaved egg and a pluot because I was a hungry beast yesterday morning! I was really excited to find pluots in the grocery store the other day. I love them but they are really hard to find, and seem to disappear after a week. Boo.

Morning Snack: Yogi green tea for the ride to work, and baby carrots with peanut butter at my desk at work. I love Yogi tea, it never disappoints. And I like have a little inspiration with my tea.

Lunch: A tofu scramble with frozen stir fry vegetables, tofu (duh), kale, eggplant  and teriyaki sauce. Frozen vegetables make like 1000x easier, but I have to admit they’re not as tasty as fresh.

Afternoon Snack: The tiniest sweet potato ever with peanut butter and cinnamon, sounds weird but it’s so good. That potato looks normal sized but it fit in to the palm of my hand. Mini foods are so cute.

Dinner: My first successful omelet with diced onions and asparagus. My omelet attempts usually turn into scrambled eggs, and even though I didn’t get the second fold I’m proud it came out in one piece. It’s the little things. I made a salad on the side (is it still a side salad when it’s bigger than the entree?) with lettuce, broccoli slaw, beets, and a little olive oil and lemon juice.

Pre-Dance Snack: Ants on a log! Minus the ants. Raisins are completely necessary for this snack, it was disappointing without them.

Late Snack: Not pictured but I had a plum and a smaller version of my breakfast oatmeal.

My ants on a log snack brought reminded me of  all the snacks I used to eat as a kid. It’s funny how much my eating habits have changed since I was younger. Some of my favorite snacks were:

Cheez Its:

I could put away some Cheez It’s as a kid. I’m talking a box a week.

Pudding! I used to eat this all the time when I got home from school. Jell-o makes the best pudding, Snack Pack has nothing them.

Little Debbie Swiss Rolls. The Nutty Bars and Oatmeal Creme Pies were on regular rotation in my lunch box too. Not so healthy, but delicious. I feel a little like I’m going to get diabetes just looking at the box.

Fun fact: the marketing professor I had last semester did some marketing work for Little Debbie. He even got to meet Debbie, who is apparently not so little anymore because she’s old enough to be my mom.

And the one of my favorite snacks that hasn’t changed:

Fruit! I was a little fruit monster as a kid and I still am today. I think I could eat my weight in fruit.

Looking back at those snacks, I don’t know how I wasn’t in a carb-y/trans-fat-y coma 24/7. I’m glad I learned some nutrition along the way. Whole foods are better, and tastier. It’s funny that I would totally pick brussel sprouts over Cheez Its now.

What were your favorite childhood snacks?

Have your eating habits changed since you were a kid? I used to be the pickiest kid ever, now I’ll try anything once. I also used to hate all vegetables. It makes me sad to think about it, luckily my current veggie obsession is more than making up for it.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

10 Comments

  1. jessie

     /  June 27, 2012

    swiss rolls and nutty buttys were my absolute FAVORITE snacks as a kid. I would eat the nutty buttys layer by layer, ha!

    yes my snacks have changed.. i don’t even remember the last time i’ve had one of them, or anything remotely close. Give me some froyo, yogurt/cereal messes, and fruit and i’m happy!!

    Reply
    • Those snacks sound much tastier, especially the froyo =)
      I used to eat my nutty bars the same way! I also used to peel the chocolate coating off the swiss rolls before eating those.

      Reply
  2. peanut butter oatmeal every day sounds delicious. I’m hooked on maple almond butter currently…

    and agreed that nutter butters and cheez its we’re delicious. I am glad that I turned a bit healthier over the years. now if I could only get EP on board so those snacks aren’t always laying around my apartment…

    Reply
  3. Oh those Swiss Rolls were my FAVORITE childhood snack. Man do I miss those, but looking at the nutrition info now I cannot bring myself to eat them.

    Reply
  4. “I think I could eat my weight in fruit.” — same here 😉 Something I’ve always done is eat tons of fruit! Something that has changes = as a kid I was eating all sorts of chips every day! I don’t like that fatty-salty treat anymore. Guess my tastebuds have aged as well 😉 Only after a vigorous workout I crave something like that every now and then, but I can’t imagine eating it every day anymore =)

    Reply
    • I know what you mean, I rarely want salty or fatty food, it just doesn’t have the appeal it used too. I’d much rather have fresh fruit and veggies!

      Reply
  5. I LOVE ants on a log. It’s the only way I can eat celery!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

