Easy Peasy Meals.

As a college student, and a busy (or let’s be honest, sometimes lazy) I definitely appreciate a quick and easy meal.

I also like meals that dirty a minimal amount of dishes. Doing dishes sucks, and my roommate gets cranky if I let them pile up in the sink. I know what’s her problem?

So to keep the peace, and quickly tame the hunger beast here are two easy recipes for yummy vegetarian, gluten-free and nutritious meals.

They’re so quick and easy that calling them recipes might be a stretch, but let’s not worry about that detail.

Eggplant Pizza  – Vegetarian, Gluten-Free, Vegan (with modification)

Ingredients:

  • 1 medium eggplant or 1/2 of a large eggplant
  • Approx.1/2 cup of pizza sauce (I just use Trader Joe’s Marinara sauce)
  • 2 cups chopped veggies of choice (I used bell pepper, onions and tomato)
  • Cheese to your hearts content (or Daiya if you want to keep things vegan)

To Make:

  1. Preheat your oven to 400 degrees
  2. Slice the eggplant into about 1/2″ thick slices, it’s important that they’re fairly thick or they’ll turn to mush before the cheese melts.
  3. Place eggplant slices on a greased baking sheet and layer on the remaining toppings. I typically put the cheese on last because it holds the toppings on the pizza better, but that’s definitely not necessary. The topping possibilities are limitless, so layer to your heart’s content.
  4. Bake in the oven for 10-15 minutes or until all the cheese has melted and the eggplant has begun to soften. Dig in!

Using half of a large eggplant I made a pretty hefty portion that was plenty for me. The serving size can be easily adjusted to fit your needs.

This meal is a little low on the protein side, it could be nice to incorporate some tempeh, tofu or other plant based protein into the toppings.

And if you’re not an eggplant fan, portobello mushroom caps make a very tasty substitution.

Teriyaki Tofu Slaw Salad – Vegan and Gluten-Free (with slight modification)

A light but satisfying salad, that I might have already made for lunch 3 days in a a row.

Ingredients:

  • 1/5 block of Firm Tofu, cut into cubes
  • 1 cup Broccoli Slaw
  • 1/4 of a medium cucumber, cut into strips
  • 2 tbsp Teriyaki Sauce separated (head’s up, teriyaki sauce usually not gluten-free so if you have serious gluten allergies substitute with Tamari, or a similar certified gluten-free sauce)
  • 1 tsp vegetable oil (or oil of choice)
  • 1 tsp Lemon Juice
  • 1/2 tsp Sesame Seeds
  • 1/4 tsp (or to taste) Sage
  • Pepper, to taste

To Make:

  1. Mix tofu with 1 tbsp teriyaki sauce and set aside to marinate (I’m impatient and only waited a couple of minutes, but it will be more flavorful if you let it sit a little longer)
  2. Place the tofu in a frying pan over medium high heat
  3. Flip the tofu every 5 or so minutes until it is browned on all sides
  4. While the tofu is cooking, in a medium bowl, combine the remaining teriyaki sauce with the oil, lemon juice and seasonings and whisk until combined.
  5. Place broccoli slaw and cucumber in the bowl with the teriyaki mixture and tossed until evenly coated.
  6. Add the tofu.
  7. Enjoy!

This recipe is pretty wide open as far as flavors and vegetables go. I like how the teriyaki mixes nicely with the crispiness and freshness of the broccoli slaw, but feel free to have some fun with the ingredients. I don’t make anything that’s easy to mess up, because let’s face it, if I did I totally would.

The recipe makes one serving, but can be easily scaled up.

I’d be lying if I said I won’t have this for lunch again tomorrow.

It’s important to mention that while I try to maintain a gluten-free diet, I do NOT have celiac’s and I’m not bothered by small amounts of gluten. If you do have celiac’s or any other serious gluten allergy, please be sure to double check that all of you’re ingredients are certified gluten-free.

See? Easy Peasy.

What’s your go to quick and easy recipe?

Previous Post
Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. As much as I love cooking, I can be so lazy sometimes haha. So these are perfect 🙂

    Reply
  2. Looks so delish! How clever to use an eggplant as ‘pizza crust’! Must try that 🙂 After all, I think that the veggies (pizza toppings) + tomato sauce + loads of basil/oregano are the heart of the pizza, so I would definitely be very happy with this kind of alternative pizza. I just found your blog and I LOVE it, keep the delicious recipes coming 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

