NC Roadrunner’s Club Invitational 10k

This race went amazingly.

The weather was beautiful, the course was interesting (and shady!) without being too killer and my legs were feeling good!

I was up at 5:30 am (ouch) for a 7:15 start time. I had planned to get up at 6 but I couldn’t sleep, and the few hours of sleep I did get were spent dreaming that I over slept. I was fed up and decided to embrace the (way too early) morning. At least I tried to get my 8 hours.

My stomach was feeling a little iffy (thanks to all the samples from the NC Food and Wine Expo, recap to come!) but seemed to settled down as I started running.

Image

Making my way to the finish line (I’m in the tye-dye)

The course wound through Cary’s Umstead State Park passing by Crabtree Creek around mile four. Crabtree Creek was gorgeous to look at and took my mind off how tired my feet were getting. The course  had two out and back points, one at about 2.5 miles and one at about 5.5 miles. The 5.5 mile turn around was torture, I felt like I was almost done, then realized I had to run past the way I came before getting to the finish line, such a tease. There were also a few hills, a couple of which were a little intense but nothing too horrible.

Image

The finish line!

I took it slow and paced myself throughout the race. I had never run the full 6.2 miles before (maybe a dumb move, but that’s okay) so my only goal was to run the entire thing. With that in mind I was careful to not start too fast because I didn’t want to burn out at the end – I’m bad about doing this. My final chip time was 1:08:50, definitely not fast, but I feel accomplished just finishing. Plus it was my first 10K which means automatic PR! A 7, 10 and 78 year old out ran me, and I was getting passed by some of the half marathon runners (the half marathon started at 7), but I’m okay with that, it just gives me motivation for my next race!

Image

I’m ridiculously excited about this medal!

Overall it was a pretty fun race (and I got a medal!), and the entry fee was a very reasonable $25, I would definitely do this race again!

Image

I also got a sweet visor. I had to be a little ridiculous with it.

Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. YAYYY!! congrats 😀 this is so awesome!

    Reply
  1. Got To Be NC Festival. « greensandcoffeebeans
  2. 2013 « greensandcoffeebeans
  3. One Year Blogiversary! And My First Ever Giveaway! « greensandcoffeebeans

Leave a Reply

