Only in North Carolina

 Image

I found a 10 pound bucket of chitlins in the freezer section of the grocery store. Good lord, only in the south. If you’re not a southerner, chitlins are pig intestines, usually served deep fried because hello we’re in the south. Sounds lovely doesn’t it? I’ve personally never tried them and I am 100% okay with that. And who needs 10 pounds of pig intestines? Strange.

You know I do need 10 pounds of? Produce.

Image

Yeah there’s a pound of baby carrots in my purse, it’s casual.

I brought a snack with me to my internship today, because usually I work until noon but sometimes they ask me to stay late and I wanted back up snacks just incase. Does a pound of carrots even count as a snack? I feel like that’s starting to border meal territory.

The dress code for my internship is business casual, which I’m finding surprisingly fun.

Image Image

Sometimes I like to pretend like I have a sense of style.

Business casual makes me feel like a little adult, it’s kind of fun. And I don’t get mistaken for a 15 year old nearly as often. Yes I’m 21 and people mistake me for 15, that’s a 6 year difference. Ridiculous.

After my internship I had planned to go on a short run but I just wasn’t feeling it. I decided to take a rest day instead considering my legs are still sore from the weights/spin class/cardio class I’ve done over the past couple of days. I’m kinda worried because I haven’t run all week and I have my 10K on Sunday, but at the same time I tend to have better runs after taking a couple of days off, so I think I’m okay with that. I did take a 2 mile walk after dinner because I couldn’t sit still and had some energy to burn.

Dinner was compliments of Martin’s Curry Rice. Tofu, fresh local veggies, brown rice and red and yellow curry sauce, delicious as always.

My mom and I are headed to the Got to be NC Festival, a celebration of all things North Carolina. Being craft nerds, my mom and I are excited for Fiber Fest, which features locally made NC yarns. Nerd alert. I’m also excited for all the free food samples, local food is my favorite.

Do you have any fun weekend plans?

Previous Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. i have never heard of chitlins before! sounds interesting haha. but i’ve always wanted to live in the south so i’m jealous in that aspect 🙂

    Reply
    • Haha yeah they are interesting, there’s a lot of interesting dishes in the south, but it’s pretty fun place to live, except in the summer when it’s 2984357293 degrees with 100% humidity.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

