What I Ate Wednesday!

My first What I Ate Wednesday! Or really what I’ve cooked since moving home for the summer.

I’m still excited to be back in the kitchen. Nothing makes you appreciate having a kitchen at your disposal like eating out of a microwave for two semesters straight.

I’m definitely not a cook, but I like to throw on food network and pretend I am!

Breakfasts:

Image

Good old oatmeal, you fill me up like no other breakfast food out there. This bowl had half a melted banana, a small spoonful of peanut butter, soy milk and cinnamon. I like cinnamon a little bit, if you couldn’t tell.

Image

It looks like cat puke but I promise it’s not. Quinoa for breakfast is pretty tasty, it’s a nice change from oatmeal, but still filling and delicious. I don’t get much of a chance to eat it during the school year because you can’t cook it in the microwave so I have to plan ahead and cook on the weekends.

Lunches/Dinner:

Image

Black beans, kale (farmer’s market!), onions, sweet potatoes, and sriracha, actually the sriracha ends up on everything, even if it doesn’t show itself in the picture. I’m obsessed and maybe have a little bit of a sriracha problem.

Image

Tofu, kale (I bought a hugggeee bag), onions, summer squash and tahini sauce.

Image

Kale (I told you it was a big bag!), tomatoes, tahini sauce and sesame seeds.

Image

Today’s Lunch! Quinoa, tofu, kale, onions, summer squash, tahini sauce and lemon juice. And I’m only about halfway through that bag of kale, it’s magical. It was probably meant to feed an entire family. Oh and it was only $2. I love the farmers market.

Everything I eat kind of looks the same, but I’m okay with that. Veggies + plant based protein + pan = delicious. And easy. I’m a fan.

Snacks:

Image

Okay this looks disgusting but tasted like magic. I grilled up some sliced banana (and maybe burned it a little, oopsies) and topped it with a drizzle of honey, a scoop of peanut butter and cinnamon. Soooo good. It takes the usual peanut butter and banana snack to a whole other level. Typing this makes me really want to make it again. But we’re out of bananas, boo.

Image

Air-popped popcorn sprinkled with cumin and cayenne pepper. It was good, except I didn’t put anything on the popcorn for the spices to stick, so the pieces at the bottom were supperrr spicy. Good thing I like things hot!

So there’s my typical eats. Well, plus more snacks, I love snacks. Simple, healthy and tasty (or at least I’d like to think so!)

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. come check out our food/lifestyle blog!! https://www.facebook.com/NeedleandFork

    Reply
  2. i love all the kale! farmers markets are definitely the best 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

