Treadmill Desk, Dinner and a Deck of Cards

Today way day 2 of my internship, they asked me to work the whole day today which was awesome. Though it definitely made me realize how much sitting all day kind of sucks. If I get a job as a graphic designer post-graduation, I will be the crazy health-freak sitting on an exercise ball instead of an office chair. Or maybe I’ll just order a treadmill desk.

Image

Except maybe treadmills and Photoshop don’t mix.

Sitting just makes me antsy, I’m a super fidgety person and I literally never stop moving. I’m totally that annoying person in a waiting room that tapping my feet or fingers on everything. Sorry.

For dinner my family and I headed out to Zoe’s Kitchen which recently opened up near my house. I’ve heard of them before but have never had the chance to visit one of their other locations.

The vegetarian (and vegan!) options were marked on the menus, which I’ve noticed is becoming more common in restaurants. I love when restaurants do this, it shows they’re making an effort to accommodate vegetarians which makes me instantly fall in love with them. My usual menu browsing goes something like “chicken, chicken, pork, salmon, pork, beef, turkey, I wonder if I can get that without bacon, chicken, steak, oh here’s something!”. It’s nice to skip that.

Overall the food was really good. I got the veggie kabobs, which came with a Greek salad, braised white beans and pita bread. The pita bread was passed along to my brother, I think he has a garbage disposal for a stomach.

In my mind it’s pretty difficult to make vegetables taste bad, but the kabobs were really flavorful and I love any meal where a salad is included, none of this extra charge crap. The white beans were also really delicious. Kind of like a soup, but not, mostly just kind of awesome.

Post dinner I headed to a Pilates class at the gym. It was wonderful, I’ve been missing my weekly Pilates class the past couple of weeks. This class was a little more group fitness-y and less traditional than the class I usually take, if that makes sense. Sometimes a change is nice and my core was definitely feeling it. Always good. I did a few quick sets of leg exercises (squat, lunges, etc. nothing exciting) before heading home.

I saw a girl in the weight room with a deck of cards. At first I was confused as to why she had them, maybe she wanted to be prepared for a potential impromptu Go Fish games? But I realized she was using them to set up her workout. Genius idea. The type of exercise was determined by the suit of the card and the number on the card determined the number of reps.

I’m totally going to steal her idea. The only downside is it makes for a pretty long workout, but it would keep things interesting. I have massive gym ADD, I’m pretty mentally over it after an hour, so I’m constantly looking for ways to keep the gym more interesting (hence, group fitness mania).

I’m taking a spin AND yoga class in the morning. I’m excitedddd!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. HAHA I don’t think treadmill and photoshop are meant together at this time, but for usual internet surfing, treadmill desktop is a great deal. It’s tiring to just sit all day

    Reply

Leave a Reply

