Home Sweet Home.

I emptied out my dorm room:

Image

And moved it all back home. My dorm room has never been so clean. The dust bunnies I found under my bed were vicious.

Goodbye dorm life. I can’t say I’ll miss you. I’m excited to be living in an apartment next year, with my own room, and a kitchen, and space.

Speaking of having a kitchen, that’s one of the perks of being at home.

Image

Lunch: Black beans, eggs, broccoli, bell peppers, onions, salsa verde and and spices. Delicious. It’s so nice to have a kitchen again. I’ll be cooking up a storm this summer!

This morning I went for a 5.5 mile trail run. A PDR for me, and it was awesome. The weather was gorgeous, and the trail was nice and shady, perfection. I would have kept going but my foot was starting to hurt, I think because I’m not used to running on a more uneven surface, it seems to be feeling good now.

On 99% of my runs a I set a distance goal and by the time I make it to that distance I’m done, I’m either exhausted or just not feeling my run. Today I actually wanted to keep running, such a good feeling. I was in a good head space and my legs were feeling good.

I’ve been really liking the occasional trail run. I’m super slow at it, because I’m already slow running on an even surface and trails certainly don’t make me any faster, but I find it way more interesting. I’m more focused on not tripping or wiping out than how tired I am. Luckily I live within walking distance from a park and have easy access to a few trails, the only downside is they’re pretty short, the longest is 2 miles, so I have to get creative and do multiple laps to fit in a longer run.

I also decided I love running in the spring mid/late mornings. All the kiddos are in school so I don’t worry about getting run over by a 10 year old on a bicycle, all the retirees/stay at home parents are out walking they’re adorable dogs, and it’s also not a fiery inferno outside. I’m going to try to squeeze in as many runs as I can before North Carolina summer comes and it’s 90 degrees at sunrise.

I need to get to bed, I’ve got to get up early to get to the farmer’s market in the morning! I’m ridiculously excited, it will probably be the highlight of my week and I’m not ashamed at how lame that sounds. I would live at the farmers market if I could.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. yayy for cleaning out your dorm and being back home! and congrats on the PDR 😀

    Reply
  1. First Day « greensandcoffeebeans

Leave a Reply

