Summer Goals

AKA: Reasons not to sit at home all day and be a bum. Although it will be tempting.

  1. Take a yoga class in a real yoga studio.
    I love group fitness yoga, but I’ve been practicing yoga long enough that I want to start embracing yoga outside of just the physical aspects. There’s a great yoga studio in Boone, but $15 a class is a little expensive when you’re minimally employed (emphasis on minimal, $15 was my entire last paycheck, ouch). I think it will be an awesome experience

    Raleigh has a yoga studio that used to be a bank vault, how cool does that sound? (source)

  2. Find a local running group to join.
    None of my friends are runners and I really want to find some like-minded people. Running groups make me nervous because I’ve only ever run by myself and I’m a pretty slow runner, but I want to put myself out there and meet some new people. Especially people that understand the urge to get up and go running at 7 am. I hear Tir Na Nog has a good one.
  3. Run a 10K.
    A 10K is the next distance I want to tackle. I’ve got my eye on one on the 20th of this month. I might not be super prepared for it, but I want to give it a shot. Plus a 10K is just over halfway to a half marathon which is my ultimate goal.
  4. Volunteer.
    I’ll only be working 12 hours a week at my internship, and since my second job hunt was unsuccessful (to be honest I didn’t try that hard). I want to do something meaningful with my time. I’ve been looking into volunteering for my local SPCA. Can I just volunteer to roll around in a pile of puppies and kittens? Kidding. But not really.

    Too stinkin cute. (source)

  5. Set up a cot at the farmer’s market, eat fresh produce all day every day and never leave until August.
    Realistic? Yes.
    North Carolina’s summer produce is the best. I plan to eat strawberries until my stomach hurts.

    Excuse me while I plug my own design for a minute

  6. Beach.
    Need I say more?
  7. Ride a bike.
    I want to start riding a bike again, but it slightly terrifies me because I haven’t ridden one since elementary school and I’m super clumsy and accident prone. But bikes are great for the environment (and my wallet) and great exercise, so I want to try to get into riding one.
  8. Get crafty.
    I’ve had an Etsy site for months, but no time to make anything to put on it. I want to try to change that. I’ll post a link if I ever make anything worth selling. Selling crafts would also make my wallet happy, bonus

    Except maybe scarves won’t go over so well for summer.

  9. Take an dance or art class.
    Trying to unleash my creative side. I’ve been missing dance a lot lately and I want to try to get in some classes over the summer since I’ll actually have time for them. However I’m in a weird place where I’m too old for most dance classes, which are geared towards the 18 & under crowd, but too young for the adult dance classes offered at most studios, which are geared towards the parents. Or they’re massively expensive. I’ll have to hunt around and see what I can find.
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Home Sweet Home. « greensandcoffeebeans

Leave a Reply

