Slow Down

I attended a Power Yoga class tonight. It was amazing, enlightening and exactly what I needed. Life has been a whirlwind lately. I’ve been committing myself to a lot of extra activities and I’ve been presented with a lot of really great opportunities and while I’m grateful for every one of those things, it’s definitely been very draining.

Finally finding the opportunity to take a yoga class, and a full 75 minutes to myself, made me realize some things. While it’s awesome I’m keeping busy and being so productive I need to take better care of myself. I can’t tell you the last time I got a full 8 hours of sleep and my lunch today was a Clif bar. Not okay. I don’t want to say that I deserve more time for myself, because I honestly hate that sentiment. There are SO many more people out there that deserve a break way more than I do, but I want to stop abusing my body. I’m lucky that I’m young and my poor body can take a beating without rebelling, but I know it won’t be like that forever.

So I’m making a little challenge for myself to force me to stop and take a break. Everyday for the next 7 days I’m challenging myself to take at least 15 minutes out of my day to do something to honor my body. Whether it’s taking that extra 15 minutes to foam roll after a run (which I’ve been neglecting and after foam rolling yesterday realized that I had gone FAR too long without it), some impromptu yoga in the middle of an intense studying session, or going to bed half and hour early. It’s not a huge commitment but I think consciously carving out this time everyday will help me  start to make a daily habit of it. I might not have time everyday for a 75 minute yoga class to de-stress, but I can bust out a few down dogs and child’s poses to rejuvenate.

Feel free to join me in this if you want, I would love to hear other people’s thoughts/experiences with this.

Healthy living is all about balance and I’m slowly starting to learn the true meaning of that.

Speaking of healthy living, I got a card from the University’s Wellness Center in the mail today.

Image

Image

That bright yellow card lists the symptoms of alcohol poisoning and what to do if you see them happening to someone. What a buzz kill.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

