Orange and Green French Toast

Happy St. Patrick’s Day!

If I was smart I would have gotten this recipe to you in time to actually eat for a breakfast on St. Patty’s Day. But planning is not my strong suit, so I missed out. Oopsies. Fortunately, this french toast is equally delicious year round. And it’s a good way to freak out your family/roommates.

In a blender combine:

  • 2 egg whites
  • 1/4 cup packed spinach
  • 2 tbsp milk (I used soy, any kind should work)
  • 2 tbsp orange juice
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • Dash of cinnamon

Blend until smooth and pour in a shallow dish. Soak your choice of bread (I used Trader Joe’s Multigrain Fiber Bread, it was very yummy) in the egg mixture and transfer to a hot pan. Cook on each side until golden brown.

I topped mine with some strawberry jam thinned out with orange juice. But feel free to get creative. 

I made two pieces of french toast, but I had some leftover egg mixture, you could probably get 3-4 slices out of it. I would double it if you’ve got any green food converts in your house. My family just gave me funny looks. One day I’ll bring them to the dark green side.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

