Weekend Updates

But first, I have to gush about the amazing yoga class I just took. I’m usually busy on Monday nights but I was free tonight and took the opportunity to take the an Advanced Yoga class, which was a little scary because I’ve never gone to the advanced class before but it was amazing. We did lots of inversions and heart openers and now I feel strong, energized and super noodle-y! I love yoga, it’s so good for the soul sometimes.

I had a whirlwind of a weekend this weekend. It was a little busy but still very rejuvenating. On Friday when I got into town I got to see my boyfriend for a little while, which was nice. It’s stressful to be away from each other but it makes it that much better whenever we do get the chance to see each other. And sometimes a really good snuggle can make your whole week better!

Then I started my Saturday off right with delicious bowl of oatmeal!

Image

Let’s just excuse how messy the bowl is, I’m pretty terrible at not letting the oats overflow into the microwave. I’m also pretty terrible at cleaning it up before I try to take a picture of it. Anyway, into the bottom of the microwave bowl went old fashioned oats, one banana, peanut butter, pea protein powder, cinnamon, and a pinch of salt. It tasted like oatmeal heaven, it’s been a while since I’ve eaten anything but plain oats (I’m boring, it’s okay) and I was a huge fan of this.

Also I need to address this beautiful thing I found in my kitchen at home:

Image

Yes, that is a 4 lb jar of peanut butter. Four pounds. Holy moly, Thank you Kroger for making something this beautiful. Um, did I mention my birthday was coming up soon? Kidding, I would have that thing would be gone in a week, and then I probably would feel bad about consuming 4 pounds of peanut butter (but not that bad, letsbehonest).

And then Saturday afternoon I ran in the St. Patty’s Green Run 8k in Raleigh, I finished in 53:46! I want to do a separate post with a full recap, but I just wanted to say that it felt so gratifying to finish that race. I feel like I’ve come so far with my running in the past couple months, and even though it’s far from the fastest time I’m still proud of what I accomplished.

Post-race my parents took me out to dinner at the Flying Biscuit. A funky little restaurant in Raleigh’s Cameron Village that serves Southern and Breakfast food. I love this place, I try to eat here whenever I’m in the area (which is not often enough). I love that they are a southern style restaurant that serves tofu, it’s a wonderful thing I ordered the tofu (of course) tater salad:

Image

Source

I didn’t take that photo, I was too busy stuffing my face, but that’s what it looked like. The salad had tamari-marinated tofu, feta cheese, red onion and oven-roasted rosemary potatoes over field greens. It was a little greasy from the potatoes and salty but it was exactly what I wanted after a 5 mile run. IMy tummy was very happy afterwards. I also have to mention that I bought an Ann Taylor suit jacket at the consignment store next door for $10. Score. I love thrifting.

My Sunday consisted of church, a three hour drive and yoga teacher training, pretty low key. Now it’s back to the grind, I’ve got 4 days of school and 3 midterms between me and spring break and it can’t come soon enough!

 

What was the last race you ran/completed/are training for?

I think I’m officially addicted to running races, I’m already looking for my next one!

What are you looking forward to this month?

Spring break! I’m ready for some quality time off the mountain.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

